A newspaper for ECU faculty and staff
Pieces of Eight


Outstanding Teachers Noted

By Nancy McGillicuddy

Ten East Carolina University faculty members were recognized for outstanding teaching during spring commencement.

The recipient of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching is Judith Hunt, an associate professor in the Department of Management. There are six recipients of the Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award. They are: Gregg Hecimovich (English), Kevin Moll (Music), David Rowe (Exercise and Sport Science), Sharon Sarvey (Nursing), Paul J. Schenarts (Medicine) and Louis Warren (Education).

Schenarts also received the Robert L. Jones Award for Outstanding Teaching. These awards were chosen by two independent selection committees.

Two recipients were awarded the University Award for Outstanding Teaching: Tom Raedeke (Exercise and Sport Science) and Richard Williams (Recreation and Leisure Studies).

The recipient of the Max Ray Joyner Award for Faculty Service Through Continuing Studies is Sue Steinweg (Education).

This page originally appeared in the May 19, 2006 issue of Pieces of Eight. Complete issue is archived at