The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

East Carolina University
Wright & Whichard Buildings

2012-2013 Outstanding First-Year Student and Finalist of Distinction

Lea Taylor
Lea Taylor

Lea Taylor has been named the Outstanding First-Year Student at East Carolina University for 2012-2013. She received a plaque and a check for $500 from the chapter. Lea graduated as valedictorian from North Duplin high school. She is an East Carolina Scholar and member of the Honors College. She is currently pursuing a dual degree: the BS in biology and the BA in Chemistry. She has already been guaranteed early admission to the graduate program in Occupational Therapy in the College of Allied Health Sciences. In addition to maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average, Lea works in the Honors College, serves as the Recruitment Committee Co-chair for the Honors Ambassadors and volunteers at the Golden Living Center. She has established pop-tab collection drives in four schools in Duplin County to support the Ronald McDonald House of Eastern North Carolina. She is also active in the ECU Presbyterian Campus Ministry Group. Lea plans to pursue graduate study in occupational therapy.

Dominique Wilkins

Dominique Wilkins was named Finalist of Distinction in the competition for Outstanding First Year Student at East Carolina University. He received a check for $200 from the chapter. Dominique in pursuing a major in Information and Computer Technology with a double concentration in Security and Networking. He graduated from Northern Nash High School in Rocky Mount where he joined the Cisco Academy as a sophomore. He graduated as a North Carolina Scholar and earned his Comptia A+ certification. At ECU, Dominique works in the School of Communications, participates in both the chess and yoga clubs, and has been doing volunteer service with campus recreation and wellness. Despite all of these many activities, he has maintained a 4.0 grade point average. He plans to pursue employment in the computer field after graduation.

News & Events

Renew Your Membership


2011 Chapter of Excellence