QUICK LINKS: Our Program
Undergraduate Study Home
Undergraduate Majors in PS
Related Undergraduate Minors in PS
Concentration in Pre-Law
Concentration in Campaigns & Elections
Concentration in Intl. Relations & Comparative Politics
Concentration in Public Admin. & Policy
Undergraduate Course Listing
QUICK LINKS: Resources
Why Study PS/Career Opportunities
Academic Resources
PolSci Advising Center
Academic Standing & Difficulty

Honors & Scholarships

You may earn Honors in Political Science, by invitation, through an Honors Thesis program. This program consists of a two-semester sequence during the senior year. Working individually with a faculty mentor/tutor, the student prepares a proposal of a research project in the fall, and defends it before the Honor Committee in December. Given a successful defense, s/he then continues to work under the guidance of the mentor to complete the research project. The final paper will be defended before the Honors Committee at the end of the semester.

If you have been invited to participate, and are thinking about pursuing a thesis, contact the chair of the Honors & Scholarships Committee.

SCHOLARSHIPS Department of Political Science students are encouraged to apply for national and international scholarships, some of which are provided on the following website: http://www.ecu.edu/cs-acad/universityscholarships/externalscholarship.cfm.

In addition, the Department of Political Science has several departmental scholarship opportunities available due to the generosity of donors, alumni and friends of the department.

It is our pleasure to be able to award these academic scholarships to our best students. Due to fluctuations in the value of the foundation accounts, we are not able to award each scholarship each year. An announcement will be made of the scholarships likely to be available for the next year in (mid-December to mid-January, depending on notification) with application deadlines mid-February.

You will find the announcements on the UG home page & the Department home page.

John East Scholarship Award: The scholarship is established in memory of former ECU Political Science Professor and Senator John East. Senator East is the only professor at East Carolina University to serve in the U.S. Senate. The Scholarship is awarded to upper level undergraduate political science majors. Criteria include:
1. Resident of North Carolina, especially candidates from eastern North Carolina.
2. Academic merit-at least 3.0 projected or actual GPA at East Carolina University.
3. Demonstrated interest in public service and/or potential to be elected to public office.
4. Demonstrated good character; Demonstrated leadership abilities.

Tinsley E. Yarbrough Scholarship: Tinsley E. Yarbrough Scholarship: Established by Mary Frances Morris in 2002 in honor of Distinguished Professor Tinsley E. Yarbrough. The scholarship is for Academic merit (at least a 3.5 overall grade point average) for a rising senior.

Gomes Scholarship: This scholarship is in honor of Douglas L. Gomes' parents, Colonel Louis A. and Mrs. Trudy Gomes. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide support to Political Science undergraduate students who have demonstrated leadership and/or high academic performance in the classroom.

Hans Indorf Memorial Scholarship: Scholarship support to deserving full-time undergraduate Political Science students who have demonstrated interest in international relations or comparative politics.

Gravely Foundation Scholarship: Established in 1983; The scholarship is awarded to an upper level Political Science major with an overall GPA of 3.00 or better, and will usually be awarded to a student who is participating in the Political Science Honors Program.

Mitchell L. Hunt Scholarship: Established Fall 1996, by Mitchell L. Hunt, an ECU political science alumnus. The scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior undergraduate student who is enrolled full time in the Department of Political Science at ECU. It is based on academic merit.

Carlton/Troutman Scholarship: Established in 1991 in honor of Mr. Herbert R. Carlton and Dr. William F. Troutman, Jr. Mr. Carlton was an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and Director of Undergraduate Studies for the department. Dr. William F. Troutman, Jr. served the department as Professor and Chair. Awarded to an outstanding declared major in the fall of their Junior year. Must have a GPA of 3.0, with nine hours of political science.

University Book Exchange Scholarship: The scholarship is funded through contributions made by the University Book Exchange.

Dept. of Political Science, Brewster A-124, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858-4353
Phone (252) 328-6189
Fax (252) 328-4134
Terms of Use | Accessibility