Why Study Political Science?
Careers & Career Opportunities
Programs (Majors & Minors in Political Science)
Undergraduate Courses
Student Academic Difficulties
Student Resources
Advising Center
Honors & Scholarships


Message from the Political Science Undergraduate Director

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at ECU. The Department is home to 15 full time faculty members whose fields include American Institutions and Processes, including NC Politics, Social & Protest Movements, Humor & Politics, Media in Politics; International Relations, Conflict, Terrorism, and Security Studies; Globalization, Foreign Policy, International Political Economy; Comparative Politics, European, Asian and African Political Systems; Public Administration and Public Policy.

We offer both a BA and a BS in Political Science, as well as a BA and a BS in Multidisciplinary Studies, Security Studies

The Department of Political Science seeks to:
1. Provide a broad background for careers in public service and in the private sector where a knowledge of government and politics is necessary;
2. Provide a broad background for, and facilitate admission to, law school;
3. Prepare students for teaching. research, and graduate study in Political Science;
4. Provide a broad background for careers in politics; and
5. Educate citizens and promote their active interest in public affairs.

Students should plan their major or minor in consultation with their departmental advisor according to their interests and career objectives.

Below, we provide links to information, resources and announcements concerning political science as a program of study.

CONTACT: Dr. Jonathan Morris, Associate Professor & Undergraduate Director
Brewster A-121
Phone: (252) 328-1067
Email: morrisj@ecu.edu

Dept. of Political Science, Brewster A-124, East Carolina University, Greenville, NC 27858-4353
Phone (252) 328-6189
Fax (252) 328-4134
Terms of Use | Accessibility