Office of Academic Affairs
New Faculty Orientation

BlackBoardIT Help DeskPirateIDIndexEmail and PhoneOneStopCalendarAccessibility
NFO 2016 banner - Primaty gateway to ECU
Photo Information: A hierarchy of gateways has been established for the ECU campus. This is the existing primary campus gateway at 5th Street and Reade Street. Learn more about the master plan for enhancing the campus.

Welcome from the Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences

Greetings from the more than 2,200 faculty and staff in the Health Sciences Division. You have come to a great university – one that takes pride in its transformative role in eastern North Carolina through its mission of teaching, research and service.

The Health Sciences Division is on ECU's west campus and consists of the Brody School of Medicine, the College of Allied Health Sciences, the College of Nursing, the School of Dental Medicine, Laupus Health Sciences Library, and the East Carolina Heart Institute.

The Brody School of Medicine enrolls more than 300 medical students, trains more than 400 medical residents and fellows, and awards master's degrees in public health and biomedical sciences and PhDs in six life science fields. It is ranked among the top schools in the country for service to the region and in educating primary care physicians, specifically in family medicine.

The College of Allied Health Sciences educates more allied health professionals at the bachelor's, master's and doctoral levels than any other university in the state. Those include physical and occupational therapists, physician assistants, audiologists, dieticians, counselors, medical technologists, and health information managers. Most of its graduates choose to stay in North Carolina to practice.

The College of Nursing prepares graduates as baccalaureate generalists, advanced practice specialists at the master's level and scientists at the doctoral level. It produces more new nurses than any other nursing program in the state and has been designated as a Center of Excellence by the National League for Nursing.

The East Carolina Heart Institute consists of an outpatient, research and educational building on the west campus and an inpatient bed tower at Vidant Medical Center.

The School of Dental Medicine graduated its first class of 50 dentists in May 2015 with a curriculum focused on educating dentists to provide general care to North Carolinians. Community Service Learning Centers are now open to train students and see patients in eight underserved communities across the state and in Ross Hall on ECU's west campus.

Laupus Health Sciences Library serves the division as well as the Eastern Area Health Education Center, Vidant Health and other health care practitioners in the East with books, journals, electronic resources, and more.

We welcome you to East Carolina and invite you to visit our campus and consider our group medical practice, ECU Physicians, for your health care needs.


Dr. Phyllis N. Horns
Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences