(4 page limit, please)

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2018-2019 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: Libraries

Membership (include <u>ex-officio</u> members).

Member	Role
Patricia Dragon	Committee Member
Eric Horsman	Chair
Colleen Janeiro	Secretary
Beth Ketterman	Ex-Officio Member
Jan Lewis	Ex-Officio Member
Heather Muise	Vice Chair
Shannon Powell	Committee Member
Caitlin Ryan	Committee Member
Margit Schmidt	Ex-Officio Member
Tom Shields	Committee Member
Noah Shuler	SGA Representative

Meeting Dates (include members present).

Name	9/18/18	10/17/18	11/28/18	1/16/19	2/20/19	3/20/19	4/20/19
Patricia Dragon	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х
Eric Horsman	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х
Colleen Janeiro	Х		Х	Х	Х	Х	Χ
Beth Ketterman	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х	
Jan Lewis	X	Х	Х	Χ	Х	Χ	Χ
Heather Muise	Х	Х	Х	Χ	Х	Χ	
Shannon Powell	X		X	Χ	Х		
Caitlin Ryan	X	Х		Χ			Χ
Margit Schmidt	X		X	Χ	Х	Χ	Χ
Tom Shields		Х	X	Χ	Х	Х	Х
Noah Shuler	X	Х	X		Х		

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work).

• None this academic year.

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

- In response to a charge from the Chair of the Faculty Senate, investigated how to discriminate "legitimate" versus "predatory" scholarly publication venues. Produced a draft set of guidelines for authors, evaluators, and students.
- Monitored continuing on-campus discussions about addition of a zero- or low-cost textbook designation to the University Course Catalog.
- Monitored nationwide discussions about foregoing journal subscriptions (e.g. UC system with Elsevier)
- Monitored the continued underfunding of libraries at ECU. Particular attention was paid to the long-standing issue of rising costs of the Virtual Library without an increase in financial resources.

- Discussed availability of on-campus resources for payment of subventions (a.k.a. page fees) for scholarly publication. Aside from funds to support open-access fees, few (possibly none?) University-wide resources exist.
- Patrcia Dragon served as a representative to the Scholary Communications Committee.
- Eric Horsman and Shannon Powell served as representatives to the Open-Access Publishing Fund Committee.
- Heather Muise served as a representative to the Special Collections Committee.

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

• None this academic year

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

- 1. Continue to make Faculty Senate aware of budget challenges to both libraries. Of particular concern is the funding situation for the Virtual Library (e-journals and other online resources). Costs increase (~4% annually) and use of / demand for materials grow each year, but funding has remained flat or decreased.
- 2. Explore possible funding sources for additional subventions / page fees (beyond the existing Open-Access Publishing Fund).
- 3. Continue supporting the Libraries' initiative to add a designation in the University Course Catalog for courses with zero textbook costs.
- 4. Continue to have members of the committee serve on the Open Access Publishing Support Fund, Scholarly Communications Committee, and as a liaison to the Special Collections Committee

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: The committee continued to represent the interests of the faculty, students, and staffing regarding the budgeting, staffing, and operation of the Joyner and Laupus Libraries.
- B. Personnel: Committee members were active throughout the year.
- C. Attendance: All members attended the majority of the meetings. A quorum was always reached.
- D. Responsibilities: Members of the committee volunteered their time and efforts for various tasks throughout the year.
- E. Activities: See above.

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee.

No suggestions.

Does the Committee's organizational No	meeting next ye	ear need to be earlier than the date set this year
If yes, when do you prefer:		
Signed: ChairpersonE. Horsman_	24 July 20	19
Vice Chair	Heather	Muise 29 July 2019
	Secretary	C Janeiro 29 July 2019