(4 page limit, please)

## EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

## 2019-2020 Academic Year

**COMMITTEE: Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid Committee** 

Membership (include <u>ex-officio</u> members): Chair, Hazel Walker (Academic Library Services); Vice Chair, Deborah Shoop (English); Secretary, Shirley Mai (Business); Kim Stokes (Allied Health Services); Stephanie Richards (Health Education and Promotion); Ziwei Lin (Physics); Monica Colon-Aguirre (Education); Ex-Officio Members (with vote): Julie Poorman (Rep. of Chancellor); Melonie Bryan (Rep. of Provost); Julie Poorman (Director of Financial Aid); Tracy Ginn (Rep. of Chair of Faculty); Kim Stokes (Rep. of Faculty Senate); Taylor Chappell (Rep. of Student Body).

Meeting Dates (include members present).

9/23/20: Present: Presiding: Jeff Popke, Chair of the Faculty, Regular Members: Kim Stokes, Stephanie Richards, Hazel Walker, Deborah Schoop, Ziwei Lin. Ex-Officio Members: Julie Poorman, Melonie Bryant, Kim Stokes, Taylor Chappell. Others: Rachel Baker and Lori Lee.

11/25/20: Present: Presiding: Hazel Walker, Chair, Regular Members: Ziwei Lin, Kim Stokes, Monica Colon-Aguirre, Shirley Mai. Ex-Officio Members: Kim Stokes, Taylor Chappell. Others: Rachel Baker.

1/27/20: Present: Presiding: Hazel Walker, Chair, Regular Members: Kim Stokes, Monica Colon-Aguirre, Stephanie Richards, Shirley Mai, Ziwei Lin. Ex-Officio Members: Kim Stokes, Julie Poorman, Taylor Chappell. Others: Rachel Baker.

2/24/20: Present: Presiding: Hazel Walker, Chair, Regular Members: Deborah Shoop, Monica Colon-Aguirre, Shirley Mai, Ziwei Lin. Ex-Officio Members: Julie Poorman, Melonie Bryant, Taylor Chappell. Others: None.

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work). None

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

- Student Scholarships, Fellowships, and Financial Aid Committee members assisted the Honors College in selecting scholarship recipients.
- Discussed and awarded 22 scholarships:

Lillie Tucker Probey Scholarship: 5 awards of \$3,000 each, 3 awards	of \$2,000, and 5 awards
of \$1,000 each	\$ 26,000
4.5 Lillian Jenkins Scholarship of \$1,000 each	\$ 4,500
2.5 Andrews Scholarship of \$1,000 each	\$ 2,500
2 Eastern North Carolina Foundation Scholarship of \$1,000 each	\$ 2,000
7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7 7	A 0 = 000

Total \$ 35,000

• Discussed changing the score scale for the applications in the portal to a 1~7.

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers). None

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order). None.

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: Appropriate.
- B. Personnel: Committee worked well together.
- C. Attendance: Good.
- D. Responsibilities: The Committee fulfilled its responsibilities.
- E. Activities: The Committee's workload was moderate, but appropriate to its charge.

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee. None

Does the Comm No	ittee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date solution of the solu	set this year?
Signed: Chairpe	Prson Hazu Walker E365518BEE794D1 DocuSigned by:	
	Vice Chair Debovale Sloop	
	Secretary Slinky Mai	_

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (<u>facultysenate@ecu.edu</u>) no later than <u>May 15, 2020</u>.