## (4 page limit, please)

## EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

## 2020-2021 Academic Year

**COMMITTEE: Academic Awards** 

Membership (include ex-officio members).

2020 Academic Awards							
Subcommittee	Board of Governors Distinguished (6)	Board of Governors Excellence (6)	Alumni and Robert L. Jones (4)	Joyner Award for DE (6)	Research/ Creative Activity	Scholarship of Engagement (5)	Service Learning
Details	6 Awards	1 Award	3 Awards	1 Award	2 x Lifetime, 2 x 5-year	1 Award	1 Award
Chair:	Jane Trapp, AHS	Sarah Williams, OFE	Stacey Altman, K	Brent Henze**, A&S	Rose Haddock, H&HP	Almitra Medina, FC, A&S	Jennifer Daugherty, ALS
Regular Members/Subc ommittee Appointees	Sarah Williams, OFE	Johna Faulconer, COE	Jennifer Daugherty, ALS	Johna Faulconer, COE	Ken Wyatt, FAC	Ann Bell, CON	Almitra Medina, FC, A&S
	Christy Rhodes, COE	Joy Karriker, COB	Brent Henze, A&S	Ann Bell, CON	Kathryn Verbanac, BSOM	Rose Haddock, H&HP	Stacey Altman, K
	Eboni Baugh, FC, H&HP	Chia-Cheng Lin FC, PT	Eboni Baugh, FC, H&HP	Ken Wyatt, FAC	Jane Trapp, AHS	Joy Karriker, COB	Sachi Spearman
	Stephen Schmidt, COE	Toby Allen, P, A&S	Almitra Medina, FC, A&S	Chia-Cheng Lin FC, PT	Christy Rhodes, COE	Kathryn Verbanac, BSOM	Katy Locke
	Hugh Lee, BSOM	David Wilson- Okamura A&S	Phyllis Horns, HS, CON	Elizabeth De Jesus Toderick, CON			
	Josiah Thornton, SGA	Denise Donica, AHS Josiah					
		Thornton, SGA					

## Meeting Dates (include members present).

- September 3, 2020 (organizational)
  Ann Bell, Jennifer Daugherty, Johna Faulconer, Joy Karriker, Jane Trapp, Ken Wyatt, Stacey Altman, Chia-Cheng Lin, Almitra Medina, Josiah Thornton, Sarah Williams
- October 2, 2020 (1:00 pm)
   Joy Karriker (Chair), Johna Faulconer, Jennifer Daugherty, Rose Haddock, Christy M. Rhodes, Jane Trapp, Ken Wyatt, Stacey Altman, Chia-Cheng Lin, Josiah Thornton, Kathryn Verbanac, Sarah Williams
- November 5, 2020
   Joy Karriker, Johna Faulconer, Sarah Williams, Jane Trapp, Christy Rhodes, Almitra Medina, Chia-Cheng Lin, Rose Haddock, Jennifer Daughtry, Ann Marie Bell, Stacy Altman, Ken Wyatt
- January 21, 2021
   Joy Karriker, Johna Faulconer, Rose Haddock, Phyllis Horns, Jennifer Daughtry, Stacey Altman, Chia-Cheng Lin, Sarah Williams, Kathryn Verbanac, Josiah Thornton
- February 4, 2021

Joy Karriker, Johna Faulconer, Rose Haddock, Phyllis Horns, Jennifer Daughtry, Stacey Altman, Chia-Cheng Lin, Kathryn Verbanac, Josiah Thornton (SGA), Almitra Medina

- March 4, 2021
   Joy Karriker, Johna Faulconer, Rose Haddock, Ken Wyatt, Christy Rhodes, Stacey Altman, Sarah Williams, Almitra Medina, Phyllis Horne, Kathy Verbanac, Chia-Cheng Lin, Josiah Thorton
- April 1, 2021 (Canceled not needed)

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work). See above: award processes completed and documented

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

- All award processes were completed and recipients determined
- Completed review of, and proposed edits to award descriptions for consistency and clarity, including substantive changes to digital product guidelines (for applicable awards)

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

- Temporary change to video requirements approved by Academic Awards Committee in fall 2020 due to pandemic-response constraints; reported to Faculty Senate in October 2020
- Completed review of, and proposed edits to award descriptions for consistency and clarity, including substantive changes to digital product guidelines (for applicable awards); presented to Faculty Senate in April for ratification

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: completed
- B. Personnel: effort to ensure representation of diverse disciplines on subcommittees
- C. Attendance: appropriate
- D. Responsibilities: appropriate
- E. Activities: excellent collaboration and efficiency

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee.

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year?

If yes, when do you prefer:

Signed: Chairperson

Vice Chair

Secretary \_\_\_\_\_\_

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (facultysenate@ecu.edu) no later than May 15, 2021.