(4 page limit, please)

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

2020-2021 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: _Student Academic Appellate Committee_____

Membership (include ex-officio members).

Members: Ralph Scott, Jennifer Matthews, Brian Massey, Louis Warren, Bethany McKissick, Jessice Teague, Lynne Murphy, Kathleen Jones, Becky Jordan

Ex-Officio Members: Johna Faulconer (Rep. Of Chancellor), Lynn Roeder (Rep. of Provost), Mary Don Roby (Rep. of Chair of the), Matthew Miller (Rep. of Student Body)

Others who would attend meetings: Beth Dawson (Office of the Registrar), Jeff Evans (Financial Aid), Rachel Baker (Faculty Senate), Julie Poorman (Financial Aid)

New members for the start of the 2020 term are invited to attend the summer meetings as well.

Meeting Dates (include members present).

June 24, 2020 - Scott, Massey, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Faulconer, Cuthrell (2019-2020 Rep of Chair of Faculty); OTHER: Dawson, Baker, Student Athlete, Alex Keddie (Sports Administrator), Courtney Oliver (Coach), Poorman

August 5, 2020 – Scott, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Faulconer; OTHER: Baker, Dawson

September 2, 2020 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Purificación Martínez, Dawson, Evans, Baker

October 7, 2020 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, McKissick, Teague, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

November 7, 2020 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, McKissick, Teague, Murphy; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

December 2, 2020 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

January 13, 2021 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, McKissick, Teague, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

February 3, 2021 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

March 3, 2021 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Dawson, Evans, Poorman

April 7, 2021 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague, Murphy, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

May 5, 2021 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, Warren, McKissick, Teague, Murphy; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder, Roby, Miller, Faulconer; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

June 2, 2021 - Scott, Matthews, Massey, McKissick, Jordan; EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS: Roeder; OTHER: Dawson, Evans

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work). None

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

- 1. Reviewed student petitions as submitted.
- 2. Discussed concerns of academic appeals for NCAA atheletes with University Athletics Committee.
- 3. Discussed appeals requesting retroactive pass/fail grades. Decided not to set specific policy related to pass/fail grades.
- 4. Decided to not accept student academic appeals related to grades/courses takenm ore than 5 years ago.

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers). None

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

None

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

Α. Charge: Satisfactory Personnel: Satisfactory B. C. Attendance: Satisfactory D. Responsibilities: Satisfactory

E. Activities: Satisfactory

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee. None

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year? No If yes, when do you prefer:

Balph Scott Signed: Chairperson

Vice Chair

Louis Warren 51A20A7272BA446.

> mnifex Matthews Secretary

-22502147425C4B2...

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (<u>facultysenate@ecu.edu</u>) no later than <u>May 15, 2021</u>.