EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

2020-2021 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: Unit Code Screening Committee

Membership (include ex-officio members).

Regular Members: Karen Jones, Charleen McNeill, Ken Ferguson (chair), Rachel Roper (vice chair), Amin Akhnoukh, Helena Feder, Melissa Beck,* William Gee (secretary).

*Also serves as ex-officio member

Ex-officio Members (with vote): Kathy Misulis, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis, Melissa Beck (Representative of the Faculty Senate).

Meeting Dates (include members present).

August 19, 2020—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Amin Akhnoukh, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Kathy Misulis, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson. Guests—Rachel Baker (Secretary of the Faculty Senate), Purificacion Martinez (Chair of the Faculty Senate).

September 16, 2020—Karen Jones, Melissa Rhodes, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Amin Akhnoukh, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Kathy Misulis, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis. Guests—Rachel Baker (Secretary of the Faculty Senate); Andrew Morehead, Andrew Sargent (Department of Chemistry).

October 21, 2020—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis. Guests—Rachel Baker (Secretary of the Faculty Senate), Salman Abdulali (Department of Mathematics).

November 18, 2020—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Helena Feder, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis. Guests—Rachel Baker (Secretary of the Faculty Senate), Salman Abdulali (Department of Mathematics).

January 20, 2021—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Helena Feder, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Kathy Misulis, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis. Guests—Rachel Baker (Secretary of the Faculty Senate), Mark Sanders (Academic Library Services).

February 17, 2021—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Helena Feder, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Charleen McNeill, Linda Ingalls, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis. Guest—John Howard (College of Fine Arts and Communication).

March 17, 2021—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Helena Feder, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Charleen McNeill, Kathy Misulis, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Becky Welch, Valerie Debellis. Guests—Mark Sprague, Martin Bier, Ziwei Lin (Department of Physics).

April 21, 2021—Karen Jones, Ken Ferguson, Rachel Roper, Helena Feder, Melissa Beck, William Gee, Charleen McNeill, Linda Ingalls, Lisa Hudson, Valerie Debellis. Guests—Mark Sprague, Martin Bier, Ziwei Lin (Department of Physics); Pamela Reis (College of Nursing).

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work). No subcommittees established during 2020-2021.

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

Screened and approved Unit Codes and associated documents for (1) the Department of Chemistry Unit Code with Criteria for Graduate Faculty Membership, Peer Teaching Evaluation Form, Advancement in Title for Fixed-Term Faculty, and Procedures for Performance Review; (2) the Department of Mathematics Unit Code with Appendix A. Graduate Faculty Appointment Guidelines, Appendix B. Criteria for Annual Evaluation of Regular Faculty, Appendix C. Criteria for Annual Evaluation of Fixed-Term Faculty, and Standards for Performance of Tenured Faculty; (3) Academic Library Services Unit Code; and (4) the Department of Physics Unit Code with Standard Operating Procedures and Guidelines (Physics Handbook).

Partially screened the Unit Code for the College of Nursing down to Section V. A 2 (a) (ii) (d), page 17.

Offered formal advice for revision of the College of Fine Arts and Communications (CAFC) Constitution with Appendix A. Dimensions of Job Performance and Appendix B. Criteria of Annual Evaluations. Returned to the College for a vote in the unit (revision approved by the CFAC on April 28, 2021).

Met and consulted with the Faculty Governance Committee in an initiative to revise the ECU *Faculty Manual* to require Unit Codes to include a commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI). Four proposals drafted by the Faculty Governance Committee to revise the ECU *Faculty Manual* to support DEI were approved by the Faculty Senate at the March 2021 meeting and by the Chancellor on April 21, 2021.

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

11/03/2020	Unit Code of the Department of Chemistry (FS Resolution #20-69)
12/01/2020	Unit Code of the Department of Mathematics (FS Resolution #20-78)
02/23/2021	Unit Code of Academic Library Services (FS Resolution #21-05)
04/27/2021	Unit Code of the Department of Physics (FS Resolution #21-37)i
04/27/2021	Annual Compliance Report required by ECU Faculty Manual, Part IV

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

Complete the screening of the Unit Code of the College of Nursing with the College of Nursing Handbook.

Screen the Constitution of the College of Fine Arts and Communication.

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: The committee reviewed Unit Codes for compliance with regulations that apply to code units in the University, voted whether to approve Unit Code revisions, and presented Unit Codes approved by the committee to the Faculty Senate for their vote.
- B. Personnel: Excellent. Special commendation to Associate Vice Chancellor Linda Ingalls, Representative of the Provost, for expert and tireless work on code screening.

- C. Attendance: Generally excellent attendance on Teams (all virtual meetings in 2020-2021 due to Covid-19). One member (Amin Akhnoukh, Engineering and Technology) stopped attending after the second meeting, but a quorum (four regular members) was met at all meetings during the academic year.
- D. Responsibilities: Fulfilled
- E. Activities: In addition to regular code screening, the committee took an active role in working with the Faculty Governance Committee to revise the ECU Faculty Manual to require code units to include a commitment to DEI, with the primary responsibility lying with the lead administrator of each unit. Changes to the ECU Faculty Manual include a revision of the rules for organizing a code unit (FS Resolution #21-21), revision of the minimal Unit Code standards (FS Resolution #21-22), revision of the Unit Code Format (FS Resolution #21-23), and a new section III in Part IV, entitled Statement of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (FS Resolution #20-24). Rachel Roper (vice chair) led the efforts of the committee in support of this successful initiative.

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee.

No suggestions.

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year? NO.

Signed: Chairperson Ken Ferguson

Vice Chair

Rache J. Ropen

Secretary

Carther Later