(4 page limit, please)

EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

2021-2022 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: Calendar Committee

Membership (include <u>ex-officio</u> members).

Regular Members: Lisa Maag, Dale Sauter, Mark McCarthy, Nanyoung Kim, Katelyn Rouse, Kristen Brooks, Krishnan Gopalakrishnan, Marianne Montgomery.

Ex-officio Members: Angela Anderson, Peter Groenendyk, Kathy Cox, Hong-Bing Su, Anne Ticknor, Savannah Slade.

Meeting Dates (include members present).

MEETING DATE: September 16, 2021

PERSON PRESIDING: Purificación Martínez

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mark McCarthy, Kristen Brooks, Marianne

Montgomery, Katelyn Rouse, Nanyoung Kim, Krishnan Gopalakrishnan

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Angela Anderson, Peter Groenendyk, Kathy Cox,

Savannah Slade

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Rachel Baker

MEETING DATE: January 27, 2022 **PERSON PRESIDING:** Mark McCarthy

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mark McCarthy, Kristen Brooks, Marianne

Montgomery, Katelyn Rouse, Krishnan Gopalakrishnan, Lisa Maag

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Angela Anderson, Peter Groenendyk, Kathy Cox,

Hong-Bing Su, Anne Ticknor, Savannah Slade OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Rachel Baker

MEETING DATE: February 24, 2022 **PERSON PRESIDING:** Mark McCarthy

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mark McCarthy, Kristen Brooks, Marianne Montgomery, Katelyn Rouse, Krishnan Gopalakrishnan, Lisa Maag, Nanyoung Kim

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Angela Anderson, Peter Groenendyk, Hong-Bing

Su, Anne Ticknor, Savannah Slade

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Rachel Baker

MEETING DATE: March 17, 2022

PERSON PRESIDING: Mark McCarthy

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Mark McCarthy, Kristen Brooks, Marianne Montgomery, Katelyn Rouse, Krishnan Gopalakrishnan, Lisa Maag, Nanyoung Kim

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Angela Anderson, Peter Groenendyk, Hong-Bing

Su, Kathy Cox

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Beth Dawson

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work).

<u>Survey Committee</u> – Marianne Montgomery and Mark McCarthy developed faculty survey on the feasibility of reducing the length of summer school and adding a week at the end of winter break. Survey approved by and email vote of the committeeSurvey made available to faculty and staff approximately two weeks before the end of spring classes. Survey closed on the last day of classes, Tuesday, April 26. Survey results will be released to all committee members in the fall.

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

Adminstered survey to faculty and staff about the feasibility of a shorter summer school and longer winter break.

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

February 22, 2022

Faculty Senate Resolution #22-11:

2023-2024 University Academic Calendars.

Faculty Senate Resolution #22-12:

Alternative Block Schedule Calendars for Fall 2022 and Spring 2023.

March 29, 2022

Faculty Senate Resolution #22-23:

Alternate Block Calendars for Fall 2023 and Spring 2024.

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

1. Discussion of survey results on reducing summer school and adding a week to winter break.

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: in addition to usual calendars, committee asked to look into the feasibility of changing future calendars with a longer winter break and shorter summer session.
- B. Personnel: Excellent group to work with
- C. Attendance: Meeting attendance we very good
- D. Responsibilities: : Completed normal annual responsibilities in addition to the new Block Calendars for each semester.
- E. Activities: N/A

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee.

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year? NO.

If yes, when do you prefer:

Signed: Chairperson: Mark McCarthy

Vice Chair:

| CB8A029F05E458... | DocuSigned by:

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (<u>facultysenate@ecu.edu</u>) no later than <u>May 16, 2022</u>.