EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

2021-2022 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: Research and Creative Activity

Membership (include <u>ex-officio</u> members).

Joi Walker, Chair
Kimberly Anderson, Vice Chair
Trang Tran, Secretary
Jeni Parker
Cynthia Grace-McCaskey
Amanda Haberstroh
Ariane Peralta

Peng Xiao Jeffrey Skibins Uduak Akpan Christy Hallberg Juan Escourido Linda Bolin **Ex-officio Members** Chal Benson Alex Manda Paul Toriello Kathryn Verbanac David Griffith Rachel Roper

Meeting Dates (include members present).

Meeting Date: Thursday, September 16, 2021 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams And In Rawl Annex 142 Person Presiding: Purificación Martínez, Chair Of The Faculty Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Ariane Peralta, Jeffrey Skibins, Joi Walker, Juan Escourido, Kimberly Anderson, Peng Xiao, Trang Tran Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Alex Manda, Chal Benson, Kathryn Verbanac, Paul Toriello, Rachel Roper Meeting date: Thursday, October 21, 2021 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams And In Rawl Annex 142 Person presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair Regular members in attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Ariane Peralta, Cynthia Grace-Mccaskey, Jeffrey Skibins, Joi Walker, Kimberly Anderson, Linda Bolin, Peng Xiao, Trang Tran, Uduak Akpan, William Sugar Ex-officio members in attendance: Alex Manda, Chal Benson, David Griffith, Kathryn Verbanac Others in attendance: Racher Baker, Marti Van Scott Meeting Date: Thursday, November 18, 2021 At 4:00 Pm, Via Teams Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Ariane Peralta, Jeffrey Skibins, Joi Walker, Juan Escourido, Kimberly Anderson, Peng Xiao, Trang Tran, William Sugar Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Chal Benson, Kathryn Verbanac, Rachel Roper Others In Attendance: Racher Baker Meeting Date: Thursday, December 16, 2021 At 4:00 Pm, Via Teams Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Ariane Peralta, Cynthia Grace-Mccaskey, Jeffrey Skibins, Joi Walker, Kimberly Anderson, Linda Bolin, Peng Xiao, Trang Tran, William Sugar Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Alex Manda, Chal Benson, Kathryn Verbanac, Paul Toriello, Rachel Roper Others In Attendance: Racher Baker, Mary Farwell

Meeting Date: Thursday, January 20, 2021 At 4:00 Pm, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Kimberly Anderson, Committee Member
Regular Members In Attendance: [Update] Kimberly Anderson, Cynthia Grace-Mccaskey, Ariane Peralta, Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Peng Xiao, Uduak Akpan, Peng Xiao
Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Chal Benson, Rachel Roper, Kathryn Verbanac, Alex Manda
Others In Attendance: Rachel Baker

Meeting Date: Thursday, February 17, 2022 At 4:00 Pm, Via Teams
Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair
Regular Members In Attendance: [Update] Kimberly Anderson, Cynthia Grace-Mccaskey, Ariane Peralta, Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Peng Xiao, Uduak Akpan, Peng Xiao, Linda Bolin, David Griffith, Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Chal Benson, Rachel Roper, Kathryn Verbanac, Alex Manda
Others In Attendance: Rachel Baker

Meeting Date: Thursday, March 17, 2022 At 4:00 Pm, Via Teams Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair Regular Members In Attendance: [Update] Kimberly Anderson, Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Uduak Akpan, Linda Bolin, Juan Manuel Escourido

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Chal Benson, Rachel Roper, Kathryn Verbanac, Alex Manda Others In Attendance: Rachel Baker, Michael Van Scott

Meeting Date: Thursday, April 21, 2022 At 4:00 Pm, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: [Update] Kimberly Anderson, Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Uduak Akpan, Linda Bolin, Juan Manuel Escourido, Cynthia Grace-Mccaskey, David Griffith, Ariane Peralta, Peng Xiao

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Chal Benson, Rachel Roper, Kathryn Verbanac, Alex Manda Others In Attendance: Rachel Baker,

Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work).

Centers and Institutes Policy: Ariane Peralta and Alex Manda

The committee had received an interim Center and Institute policy for approval, but on further discussion learned that it was current had been approved previously. The C&I Committee will turn their attention to a major revision in the Fall and it will get back the RCA committee in FY23.

Research Conduct Policy: Amanda Haberstroh and Uduak Akpan

The Committee was charged with reviewing a revised version of this regulation (originally titled "Regulation on Research Conduct"), which appears below. The Committee has been made aware of concerns that persist in the revised version and members have been meeting with several campus offices to gather more information. These meetings are ongoing, and more work needs to be done before the Committee's formal advice is finalized. The committee will clarify the process for this policy and the intersection with other polices. The full formal faculty advice will be presented at a meeting during the 2022-2023 academic year.

Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency <u>other than</u> the Faculty Senate.

The year began with in-depth meetings with interim VC Van Scott regarding a reorganization of the relationship of the committee with REDE. The primary result from these meetings was creation of the Faculty Support and Reassignment Award. This award replaces the previous research grant sponsored by REDE and reviewed by the RCA committee. We also added a report from REDE to our monthly meetings. We will be working on the revising committees charge in AY21-22

Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

Presented formal faculty advice on the East Carolina University Patent Interim Policy at the December 7, 2021, Faculty Senate Meeting. The Committee reviewed the policy and are suggesting no changes. **RESOLUTION** #21-7

Presented formal faculty advice on the Research Participants Payments Regulation at the December 7, 2021, Faculty Senate Meeting. The Committee reviewed the policy and are suggesting no changes. **RESOLUTION #21-71**

Presented formal faculty advice on the Regulation on Reporting and Responding to Allegations of Research Misconduct (formerly titled "Regulation on Research Conduct") at the April 26. 2021, Faculty Senate Meeting **RESOLUTION #22-39.**

Presented the 2023 Faculty Support and Reassignment Awards for Research and Creative Activity at the March 29, 2021 Faculty Senate Meeting, for information only.

Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

Regulation on Reporting and Responding to Allegations of Research Misconduct policy Graduate Student Stipend Resolution Research Intensive (RI) designation

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the year).

- A. Charge: under revision
- B. Personnel: sufficient
- C. Attendance: good
- D. Responsibilities: sufficient
- E. Activities:

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee. None.

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year? Yes.

If yes, when do you prefer: September 1, 2022

Signed:

Chairperson:

erson: foil. Walker

Vice Chair: Kimberly L. Anderson

Secretary:

Arrany

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (<u>facultysenate@ecu.edu</u>) no later than <u>May 16, 2022</u>.