# EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC AND APPELLATE COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT

### 2022-2023 Academic Year

COMMITTEE: Research and Creative Activity

#### Membership (include ex-officio members).

Joi Walker, Chair Jeffrey Skibins Ex-officio Members

Yeliz Eseryel, Vice Chair
Veeranna Maddipati, Secretary
Cynthia Grace-McCaskey
Amanda Haberstroh
Ariane Peralta

Uduak Akpan
Xi Lin
Paul Toriello
Mary Farwell
Linda Bolin
David Stewart
Raychl smith

Peng Xiao Edmund Wall

# Meeting Dates (include members present).

Meeting Date: Thursday, September 1, 2022 At 3:00 PM, Via Teams And In Rawl Annex 142

Person Presiding: Anne Ticknor, Chair Of The Faculty

Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Ariane Peralta, Jeffrey Skibins, Joi Walker, Juan Escourido, Peng Xiao, Cynthia Grace-McCaskey, Ping Xiao, Uduak Akpan, Xi Lin, Linda Bolin, Yeliz Eseryel, Anna Froula, Edmund Wall, Veeranna Maddipati

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Alex Manda, Paul Toriello, David Stewart, Mary Farwell, Raychl Smith

Others in Attendance: Rachel Baker

Meeting Date: Thursday, September 22, 2022 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Jeffrey Skibins, Edmund Wall, Yeliz Eseryel, Ariane Peralta,

Veeranna Maddipati, Juan Manuel Escourido, Amanda Haberstroh, Uduak Akpan

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Alex Manda, Mary Farwell, Raychl Smith

Others in Attendance: NA

Meeting Date: Thursday, October 20, 2022 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Uduak Akpan, Juan Escourido, Cynthia Grace-McCaskey, David Griffith, Ariane Peralta, Peng Xiao, Yeliz Eseryel, Lin Xi, Edmund Wall, Maddipati, Veeranna

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Mary Farwell, Manda Alex, Raychl Smith,

Others in Attendance: Rachel Baker, Macready Margaret

Meeting Date: Thursday, November 17, 2022 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Uduak Akpan, Juan Escourido, Cynthia Grace-McCaskey, David Griffith, Ariane Peralta, Peng Xiao, Yeliz Eseryel, Lin Xi, Edmund Wall, Linda Bolin, Anna Froula, Maddipati, Veeranna

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Manda, Alex, Smith Raychl, David Stewart.

Others in Attendance: NA

Meeting Date: Thursday, January 19, 2023 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Uduak Akpan, Juan Escourido, Cynthia Grace-McCaskey, David Griffith, Ariane Peralta, Peng Xiao, Yeliz Eseryel, Lin Xi, Edmund Wall, Linda Bolin, Anna Froula; Veeranna Maddipati

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Manda, Alex, Smith Raychl Others in Attendance: Sharon Paynter and Margaret Macready (chat)

Meeting Date: Thursday, February 16, 2023 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Amanda Haberstroh, Jeffrey Skibins, Uduak Akpan, Peng Xiao, Yeliz

Eseryel, Lin Xi, Edmund Wall, Linda Bolin

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Manda, Alex, Smith Raychl

Others in Attendance: Sharon Paynter, Rachel Baker

Meeting Date: Thursday, March 16, 2023 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Jeffrey Skibins, Uduak Akpan, Peng Xiao, Lin Xi, Edmund Wall, Anna

Froula, Juan Escourido, Veeranna Maddipati, Ariane Peralta

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Manda, Alex, Smith Raychl, Mary Farwell

Others in Attendance: Rachel Baker

Meeting Date: Thursday, April 20, 2023 At 4:00 PM, Via Teams

Person Presiding: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

Regular Members In Attendance: Yeliz Eseryel, Uduak Akpan, Peng Xiao, Lin Xi, Edmund Wall, Anna

Froula, Juan Escourido, , Linda Bolin, Cynthia Grace-McCaskey

Ex-Officio Members In Attendance: Smith Raychl

Others in Attendance: Rachel Baker

# Subcommittees established during the year (include progress and/or completion of work).

Research Conduct Policy: Amanda Haberstroh and Uduak Akpan

The Committee was charged with reviewing a revised version of this regulation (originally titled "Regulation on Research Conduct"), which appears below. The Committee has been made aware of concerns that persist in the revised version and members have been meeting with several campus offices to gather more information. These meetings are ongoing, and more work needs to be done before the Committee's formal advice is finalized. The committee will clarify the process for this policy and the intersection with other polices. The full formal faculty advice will be presented at a meeting during the 2022-2023 academic year.

# Accomplishments during the year. Please include recommendations made to any University agency other than the Faculty Senate.

The year began with review of the FSRA award. There were 14 applications which split nicely across three broad area, STEM (5), Humanities (4), and Health Sciences (5). Two awards from each area were recommended as well as 3 at large award recommendation. Amanda Haberstroh was appointed to serve on the Committee on Copyrights. The committee charge was revised to reflect changes in institutional structure, the Faculty Support and Ressignment Awards, and the Research Intensive Designation.

#### Reports to the Faculty Senate (include dates and resolution numbers).

January 24, 2023: Presented the formal faculty advice on Regulation on Reporting and Responding to Allegations of Research Misconduct (formerly Regulation on Research Conduct). RESOLUTION #23-06

January 24, 2023: Presented proposed revisions to ECU Faculty Manual Part VII, Section III. Ethics and Conduct in Research, Creative Activity, and Scholarship. RESOLUTION #23-07

April 25, 2023: Presented proposed Research Intensive course designation. **RESOLUTION #23-49.** 

## Business carried over to next year (list in priority order).

Provide formal faculty advice on the Salary Savings from Sponsored Programs PRR

Evaluation of the committee (include anything that hindered or assisted the committee's work during the vear).

Charge: Revision Pending Approval Α.

Personnel: sufficient В.

C. Attendance: good

Responsibilities: sufficient D.

E. Activities:

Suggestion(s) to the Chair of the Faculty for improving the effectiveness of the committee.

Does the Committee's organizational meeting next year need to be earlier than the date set this year?

If yes, when do you prefer: September 7, 2023

Signed:

foil. Walker Chairperson:

Vice Chair:

Secretary:

Please forward the completed, approved annual report to the Faculty Senate office via email (facultysenate@ecu.edu) no later than May 16, 2022.