**COMMITTEE:** Academic Awards Committee

MEETING DATE: September 19, 2019

**PERSON PRESIDING:** Gabriel DiMartino, Committee Chair

**REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:** Ann Bell, Gabriel DiMartino, Rose Haddock, Joy Karriker, Randall Martoccia, Jane Trapp

Joy Karriker, Karidali Martoccia, Jane Trapp

**REGULAR MEMBERS NOT IN ATTENDANCE:** Patricia Anderson

**EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:** Zia Rehman (representative of the Chair of the Faculty), Sarah Williams (representative of the Provost)

**EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS NOT IN ATTENDANCE:** Stacey Altman (representative of the Chancellor), Yan-Hua Chen (representative of the Faculty Senate), Phyllis Horns (representative of the Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences), Josiah Thornton (representative of the Student body), Kathryn Verbanac (representative of the Vice Chancellor for Research, Economic Development, and Engagement)

**GUESTS IN ATTENDANCE:** Rachel Baker and Lori Lee

**RECORDER:** Rose Haddock, Academic Awards Committee Secretary

Meeting called to order at 2:02 PM by Jeff Popke, Chair of the Faculty.

#### **ACTIONS OF MEETING**

<u>Agenda Item 1</u>: Nominate and vote in 2019 – 2020 executive board members for the Academic Awards Committee.

<u>Discussion:</u> Gabriel DiMartino self-nominated to be chair for a second consecutive year. A second to the motion was received. There were no abstentions. Randall Martoccia self-nominated to be the committee vice-chair, and a second to the motion was received. There were no abstentions. Rose Haddock self-nominated as committee secretary, and a second to the motion was received. There were no abstentions.

<u>Action Taken:</u> New executive team selected for 2019 – 2020 academic awards committee.

### **Agenda Item 2:** Service-Learning Award

<u>Discussion:</u> The Service-Learning Award was distributed to committee members for review. Suggested changes were added. Committee members made a motion to

accept the award with suggested changes. A second to the motion was received. There were no abstentions.

Action Taken: The Service-Learning Awarded as written with changes will be forwarded to Faculty Senate.

### **Agenda Item 3:** Academic Awards Nominations

<u>Discussion</u>: Eighty-eight nominations for academic awards have been submitted. A kick back message was sent to nominators. At this point applicants are still putting together materials to be submitted. Three informational sessions have been scheduled: September 30, 3pm – 4pm; October 16, 11am – 12pm; and October 17, 3pm – 4pm.

<u>Action Taken</u>: Committee members will be in attendance at the informational sessions to answer questions from nominees.

<u>Assigned additional duties to</u>: Gabriel will work with committee members to form subcommittees. Sarah will email nominees with additional information regarding the selection application process and informational sessions.

### Agenda Item 3: Proposed Goals

<u>Discussion</u>: The committee discussed possible goals for the group. The discussion was as follows:

- 1. Provide guidelines for creating teaching philosophies. Include access to video which provides information on developing teaching philosophies.
- 2. Search for faculty member willing to develop teaching philosophy resource list. Provide stipend for faculty member willing to take on this task.

# Agenda Item 4: Implicit bias training

<u>Discussion</u>: Suggestion was made that committee members should engage in the Implicit Bias training as many did last year.

<u>Action Taken</u>: Committee members were encouraged not to visit Harvard University's Implicit Bias website but to complete training session from ECU resources.

## **Agenda Item 5**: Awards Ceremony

Discussion: The Awards Ceremony will be April 21, 5pm – 7pm. Nominees will be required to provide high resolution photo for video intro.

Action Taken: Nominees will be encouraged to attend whether they win or not.

## Meeting adjourned at 3:05 PM

NEXT MEETING: November 7, 2019 at 2:00 p.m. in 142 Rawl Annex

### ITEMS TO BE DISCUSSED

- (1) Approval of minutes (9/19/19)
- (2) Development of Subcommittées