COMMITTEE: Academic Awards Committee

MEETING DATE: March 4, 2021, via TEAMS

PERSON(S) PRESIDING: Joy Karriker, committee chair

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Johna Faulconer, Rose Haddock, Ken Wyatt, Christy Rhodes

ABSENT: Jennifer Daughtry, Ann Bell, Jane Trapp

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Stacey Altman, Sarah Williams, Almitra Medina, Phyllis Horne, Kathy Verbanac, Chia-Cheng Lin, Josiah Thorton (SGA)

GUESTS: N/A

ACTIONS OF MEETING

- 1. Joy Karriker welcomed the committee and called for review of February minutes; Stacy Altman motion, Phyllis Horne, second; minutes approved.
- 2. Joy led the discussion of edits to the award descriptions without media requirements:
- a. BOG Distinguished-reviewed proposed changes; discussion on stipend vs monetary award. Committee decided leaving each award as written for all awards.
- b. Scholarship of Engagement- reviewed proposed changes from subcommittee.
- c. Research & Creative Activities- reviewed proposed changes; discussed importance of external review letters-clarified with- External recommendations should be unbiased and provide an objective assessment of a nominee's research and creative activity.
- d. Scholar-Teacher- reviewed proposed changes. Sarah Williams will check language and update committee.

- e. O. Max Garder-discussion about the place of the award; not in AAC charge; decided to refer to academic council.
- 3. Group discussed name of Awards Ceremony
- 4. Joy will take edits to Faculty Senate
- 5. Announcements

Please reserve April 20, 2021, 5:00pm – 7:00pm for the virtual awards celebration!

Adjourn

Next (and final meeting of semester) April 1, 2021, 2PM in TEAMS