COMMITTEE: Academic Awards Committee

MEETING DATE: October 5, 2023 from 2:00-2:30 p.m. in Teams

PERSON PRESIDING: Ann Maria Bell

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Ann Maria Bell, Christine Kowalczyk, Cameron Eigner, Raychl

Smith

REGULAR MEMBERS NOT IN ATTENDANCE: Christy Rhodes, Mi Hwa Lee, Rose Haddock, Jennifer

Daugherty, Ruby Ye

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Sarah Williams (representative of the Provost), Yolanda Holt (representative of the Provost for REDE), Kayla Cornett (representative of the Student Body), Thompson Forbes (representative of the Chancellor), Pam Reis (representative of Chair of Faculty)

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS NOT IN ATTENDANCE: Phyllis Horns (representative of the Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences), Ruby Yeh (representative of Faculty Senate),

GUESTS IN ATTENDANCE: Cara Gohn

RECORDER: Christine Kowalczyk, Academic Awards Secretary

Dr. Ann Maria Bell called the meeting to order and introduced Sarah Williams.

Sarah Williams discussed the steps as selection committee chair:

- Schedule selection committee meeting
- Finalize list of selection committee members
- Review decision dates
- Review award guidelines
- Use Faculty 180 to review portfolios which are due on November 1.

Two communication steps once the decision is made:

- 1. Send Ann email who the outcome of committee of award recipient word appropriately.
- 2. Narrative description of process used; need minute summary.

It is important to make note of any possible changes to the process. Mark your calendar that the awards will be given on Monday, April 22 from 5-7 p.m. in Main Campus Student Center.

Cara Gohn, Faculty 180 coordinator, was introduced and showed how to view the full portfolio. The entire committee will review the portfolios and the chairs will mark the award recipient. Student reviews can also log into Faculty 180. Committee members will get emails that portfolios are submitted. Emails do not need to be kept. All committee members will see candidates' names. Click on "Read Case" button to look at full portfolio. Committee chair will look at case details to fill out form. You need to progress the portfolio forward. Click "send case" forward. It is important to note if recipient or not. Email Cara with questions.

Ann stated that the selection committees are still being finalized.

Sarah provided the names of the selection committee chairs and their assigned awards.

- Christine Kowalczyk Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award
- Rachyl Smith Board of Governors Award Excellence in Teaching
- Jennifer Daugherty University Alumni Association Awards for Outstanding Teaching
- Thompson Forbes Max Ray Joyner Award for Excellence in Teaching through Distance Education
- Rose Haddock Excellence in Research and Creativity Activity Awards 5 year and Lifetime
- Mi Hwa Lee University Service-Learning and Teaching Excellence Award
- Yolanda Holt Scholarship of Engagement

Ann reiterated that the committee is still waiting for members to accept committee membership. There is no November meeting. The selection committees need to meet in November. Committee members will need to review portfolios before the meeting and decide on a rubric.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: November 2, 2023, at 2:00 p.m. on Teams.