Committee on Committees (CoC) Minutes September 22, 2020 3:00 PM

Presiding: Melinda Doty

Members present: Melinda Doty, Donna Roberson, Hong Bing Su, Ryan Martin, Amanda Haberstroh,

Toyin Babatunde

Ex-officio members present: Jeff Popke, Puri Martinez

Members absent: Tracy Carpenter-Aeby

Guests:

Recording: Donna Roberson

Agenda item: Approval of minutes from the organizational meeting - August 18, 2020

Discussion: questions about GEIEC charge

Action: approved

Agenda item: Microsoft Teams site active

Discussion:

Action: point of information

Agenda item: selection of faculty assembly alternate Discussion: examination of diversity of committee

Action: Andrew Brimhall nominated for the alternate position

Agenda item: Revision of the call for faculty senate committee service Discussion: last call is as follows with addition in **bold and yellow highlight**:

The Committee on Committees, Faculty Senate and University administration encourage faculty members to participate in ECU's shared governance structure by volunteering to serve on university committees. There are an estimated 115 upcoming committee vacancies. Faculty members currently serving are commended for their dedication to University service! Current unit representation on committees can be viewed here. Please click here to complete the short online volunteer preference form for 2020/21 committee membership. The submission deadline is Sunday, February 9, 2020.

Tenured, tenure-track and fixed-term faculty, in at least their <u>second consecutive year</u> of full-time employment are eligible to volunteer and serve in accordance with their ability, training, and experience. Committee members are elected to staggered three-year terms and new members will be elected by the Faculty Senate during their May 5, 2020 organizational meeting. <u>Here</u> is a link to information about committee activities and here is a link to current committee rosters.

Volunteer data collected through this call will fill committee vacancies and may aid faculty leadership in appointing/recommending diverse representation of members for task forces, subcommittees and working groups formed to address various academic issues. Please contact Professor Christina Tschida, Chair of the Committee on Committees at tschidac@ecu.edu or Professor Jeff Popke, Chair of the Faculty at popkee@ecu.edu if you have any questions.

Action: Donna Roberson and Amanda Haberstroh will craft a revision and distribute before next meeting

Agenda item: Appellate committee: one 2021 term regular seat on Due Process Committee needed

Discussion: examination of diversity of committee

Action: Steven Cerutti is nominated

Agenda item: Nominate three members to recently reformed Safety and Security Committee

Discussion: examination of diversity and discussion about needs for Student Health representation

Action: Mark Sprague, Jo Anne Balanay, Lok Pohkhrel nominated for the three members

Agenda item: Update on the charge of the DELT Committee

Discussion: committee wants to update the charge and carefully examine the wording.

Action: DELT meets 9.23.2020 and will return a new charge to the CoC

Meeting Adjourned 3:50pm

Next meeting: October 20, 2020 3pm In Teams

Current agenda items for October

- 1. DELT charge
- 2. Faculty senate volunteer call revisions (Roberson and Haberstroh)