## **COMMITTEE: Educational Policies and Planning**

**MEETING DATE: Friday, September 10, 2021** (142 Rawl Annex)

Mixed meeting, online and in person

**PERSON PRESIDING:** Puri Martinez calls meeting to order, then

## **ATTENDANCE**

Regular members: John Collins, Bryna Coonin, Timothy Jenks, Michael Dingfelder, Suzanne Lea,

Jean-Luc Scemama, Michelle Wallen

Ex-officio Members (with vote): Cyndi Bellacero, Mark Bowler, Ruth Little, Ron Preston,

Jonathan Reid, Jason Yao, Cameron Brown (Rep. of Student Body)

Also in attendance: Rachel Baker, Puri Martinez

## **ACTIONS OF MEETING**

Call to order: 1:00 pm MINUTES for April 9, 2021 approved

Chair of the Faculty (Puri Martinez) formally welcomed the 2021/2022 EPPC Committee. She introduced everyone present in person and virtually and provided an overview of how to get to the Committee materials from the ECU web pages. She reviewed the Committee charge, as well as the duties and responsibilities involved in committee service.

Agenda Item #1: Election of Officers

<u>Action Taken:</u> Officers were elected. John Collins (Chair), Timothy Jenks (Vice-Chair), Bryna Coonin (Secretary).

<u>Agenda Item #2</u>: Consider revisions to the charge – Change from REDE representative to Graduate School representative

Action Taken: No objections

**Agenda Item #3**: Appoint regular voting member to serve as rep on the Badging Governance

Committee

Action Taken: John Collins will serve

**Agenda Item #4**: Consider revision to ECU Faculty Manual Part VI, Section VII to fix a mistake regarding review of CIP codes.

Action Taken: Bellacero commented on this. No action needed or taken by EPPC at this time.

Agenda Item #5: IPAR review of programs that are low productivity

<u>Action Taken:</u> Bowler suggested that EPPC should consider handling this as we do with APRs. Bowler would like to add this to our upcoming business which we agreed to do.

Agenda Item #6: APR list updated as of Fall 2021 to cover any existing gaps

<u>Action Taken:</u> Dept. of Sociology will be covered by Suzanne Lea. School of Hospitality Leadership will be covered by Bryna Coonin. Dept. of Political Science will be covered by John Collins. Jean-Luc Scemema will cover Dept. of History. Michael Dingfelder will cover Dept. of Economics. Michael Wallen will cover African and African American Studies (BA), which is housed in Interdisciplinary Programs.

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS/UPDATES**

Meeting adjourned at 1:52 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: Friday, October 8, 2021

Respectfully submitted,

Bryna Coonin, Secretary

Bryna Coonin