Educational Policies and Planning Committee – October 10-13-2023

Regular Member Attendees: Michael Dingfelder, Michele Wallen, Ken Luterbach, Lida Cope, Anthony Kennedy (Secretary), Mark Bowler (Chair)

Ex-Officio Attendees: Jason Yao, Ron Preston, Ray Hylock, Thompson Forbes, Darius Wingfield

Other Attendees: Rachel Baker, Scott Glass, Steven Schmidt, Emily Allen Maida

The meeting was called to order and the minutes from the September organizational meeting were approved.

• Adult Education Program - Academic Program Review, Response to Reviewers.

Steven Schmidt & Scott Glass provided a summary of the response, and the committee noted the thoroughness of the response and the fact that progress has already been made implementing some of the reviewers suggestions (such as implementation of an undergraduate USBS course in spring 2024). The committee approved the response.

• BS Public Health – Request to deliver 70% online

Michele Wallen provided details to the committee explaining that inclusion of online classes in summer resulted in IPAR flagging the program for having a large number of courses online (although the courses are offered face to face in fall and/or spring). There is currently no intent to offer the degree entirely online and this request is to comply with UNC policy for online delivery. All documentation is available in curriculog and the committee approved the submission.

• Proposed Change to EPPC Charge

Mark Bowler presented proposed changes to the EPPC charge to the committee. One minor change involved striking the requirement of the chair of EPPC to sit on a committee that no longer exists and to expand the language to cover additional relevant committees. The second proposed change suggested that the EPPC may start looking at low productivity data for programs potentially in danger of falling below the threshold, with the intent that the committee, by acting proactively, can reach out to these programs early to warn them of the consequences of falling below the threshold. In addition, the committee could provide appropriate documentation to them so that they have appropriate time to plan, as currently many programs are unaware they are close to the threshold, until they actually fall below it. Some discussion followed which focused on choosing appropriate wording for the proposed addition to the EPPC charge and the potential added work. The committee voted to adopt the proposed change to the EPPC charge, which will now move on to the committee for committees for review.

• Subcommittees.

Mark informed the EPPC that we need to form subcommittees which will examine the following policies and to invite Rachel Baker to meetings if there are any;

a. Academic Policies for Prior Learning Assessments (PLAs):

This sub-committee is asked to review documentation on EPPC Shaepoint and have some details for the November EPPC meeting.

Sub-committee members: Ron Preston, Michele Wallen, Mark Bowler

b. Restriction on Double Counting Credits Between Majors and Minors:

This sub-committee is asked to review documentation and have some details for the November EPPC meeting. Sub-committee members: Lida Cope, Anthony Kennedy, Mark Bowler

c. Non-Degree Seeking Undergraduates:

Angela Anderson (or rep) will attend November meeting to discuss. Sub-committee will examine current rules for this and if non-degree seeking undergraduates can obtain certificates. The sub-committee will report back in December

Sub-committee members: Timothy Jenks, Ken Luterbach, Mark Bowler

d. Course Program of Study (CPOS):

Novine Kros will attend the November meeting to discuss CPOS and the subcommittee will examine catalogs to determine if and where reminders of CPOS should be included. The sub-committee will report back in December. Sub-committee members: Michael Dingfelder, Thompson Forbes, Mark Bowler

• Announcements & Updates

Mark briefly explained the purpose of an Academic Program Review (APR). Each APR has an EPPC representative to help oversee the process. The committee assigned representatives (in parentheses) for the following APRs:

Intercoastal Sciences (Ken Luterbach to replace Jean-Luc Scemama)
English (Suzanne Lea)
Addictions & Rehabilitation Sciences (Timothy Jenks)
Mathematics (Jason Yao)
Nutrition Sciences (Anthony Kennedy)

The meeting was adjourned.