Educational Policies and Planning Committee Organizational Meeting 09-08-2023

Regular Member Attendees: Lida Cope, Michael Dingfelder, Timothy Jenks, Anthony Kennedy, Ken Luterbach, Michael Wallen

Ex-Officio Attendees: Thompson Forbes, Ray Hylock, Ron Preston, Jason Yao

Other Attendees: Anne Ticknor (Chair of the Faculty), Rachel Baker, Emily Maida

Anne Ticknor, Chair of the Faculty, opened the meeting with introductions all around. She then proceeded to highlight portions of two documents provided as resources to the committee, found in the committee Microsoft Team, named "Guide to Faculty Senate Academic Committee Service" and "Guide to Committee Voting and Faculty Senate Reports."

Anne Ticknor then opened the floor for nominations for the officer positions of the committee. Elections took place, and the following members were elected as officers of the committee:

Chair: Mark Bowler (nominated and elected in abstentia; willingness to serve was confirmed prior to meeting)

Vice Chair: Timothy Jenks Secretary: Anthony Kennedy

Anne Ticknor then called attention to the business of the committee, set out in the document in their Team.

The Committee discussed updates on the APRs that are in progress. The new curriculum deadlines set by the Curriculog Advisory Committee were mentioned. Faculty were encouraged to send any questions or concerns about the deadlines to their Senators, because there will be a report at the Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Faculty Senate meeting about the new deadlines. The new restrictions on student schedules who receive federal financial aid were discussed, and members voiced some concerns that many graduate programs would have to change their listed requirements in their degree plans to allow the appropriate courses to count as part of a student's degree program. The new requirements go into effect in the spring.

Once discussion ended, the meeting was adjourned.