COMMITTEE: Faculty Welfare

MEETING DATE: September 8, 2022

PERSON PRESIDING: Anne Ticknor, Chair of the Faculty

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Casey Fleming, Michael Garrison, Rebecca Harris, Jan

Mayo, Mark Moss, Pamela Reis, Roger Russell

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Jay Newhard, Wendy Sergeant, Hong-Bing Su, Kitty

Wetherington

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Rachel Baker

ACTIONS OF MEETING

Agenda Item: Welcome and Introductions

<u>Discussion:</u> Professor Ticknor, Chair of the Faculty, welcomed the committee members and led them through introductions.

Action Taken: None

Assigned additional duties to: N/A

Agenda Item: Presentation of Committee Information

<u>Discussion:</u> Ms. Baker showed Committee members how to access the Committee's website, and Professor Ticknor highlighted the Committee charge, roster, and email address. Professor Ticknor then presented guidelines for committee service and voting (documents are stored in the Committee's SharePoint).

Action Taken: None

Assigned additional duties to: N/A

Agenda Item: Elections

<u>Discussion:</u> Professor Ticknor opened up the floor for nominations for Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary of the committee, reminding everyone that only regular members can serve in these positions. The following members were nominated:

Chair: Steve Wolf

Vice Chair: Rebecca Harris Secretary: Casey Fleming

Action Taken: The slate of nominees were elected by acclamation.

<u>Assigned additional duties to:</u> Ms. Baker will reach out to Professor Wolf to confirm that he accepts the nomination and election as Chair.

Agenda Item: Committee Business and Appointment of Administrative Committee Representatives

<u>Discussion:</u> Professor Ticknor displayed the Committee's business for the 2022-2023 academic year, which was provided from their annual report. Two items involved appointment of regular voting members of the committee to administrative committees (EHRA Personnel Policies Committee and Administrative Recreation and Wellness Advisory Committee). Professor Reis requested that Professor Ticknor attend the first regular meeting of the Committee to help prioritize their business.

<u>Action Taken:</u> The Committee appointed Jan Mayo as the EHRA Personnel Policies Committee representative and Casey Fleming as the Administrative Recreation and Wellness Advisory Committee representative.

<u>Assigned additional duties to:</u> Jan Mayo and Casey Fleming (attendance at administrative committee meetings).

NEXT MEETING: October 13, 2022

ITEMS TO BE DISCUSSED: Prioritization of Committee business for the academic year