COMMITTEE: 2021/2022 Research/Creative Activities Committee

MEETING DATE: Thursday, Dec 16th, 2021 at 4:00 PM, via Teams

PERSON PRESIDING: Joi Walker, Committee Chair

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Amanda Haberstroh, Ariane Peralta, Cynthia Grace-McCaskey, Jeffrey Skibins, Joi Walker, Kimberly Anderson, Linda Bolin, Peng Xiao, Trang Tran, William Sugar

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Alex Manda, Chal Benson, Kathryn Verbanac, Paul Toriello, Rachel Roper

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Racher Baker, Mary Farwell

ACTIONS OF MEETING

1. Minutes of November meeting was reviewed and approved.

- 2. Dr. Joi Walker, Committee Chair, informed that both Patent Policy and Research Participant Payment had been approved by Senate.
- 3. Dr. Mary Farwell made a short Faculty Reassignments Award presentation:
 - Two types of awards: Faculty Reassignments Awards (FRA) and Faculty Reassignments Awards in Arts and Humanities (FRA AH). The latter applies for Art, Design, English, Philosophy and History.
 - FRA AH in 2017 present: out of 23 proposals submitted, 10 were awarded with about \$475-,000.
 - FRA in 2017 present: out of 84 proposals submitted, 64 were awarded with about \$3.2 million
 - That was followed by discussion How to encourage faculty to submit applications?
- 4. Dr. Rachel Roper proposed the resolution for graduate student stipend given the fact that the stipend ECU's graduate students have is relatively low.
 - ECU will increase student stipends to be more competitive with other universities in NC.
 - If a faculty member could pay a higher salary, ECU will not limit the amount of stipend a faculty member may pay for a graduate student.
 - That was followed by discussion.
- 5. Dr. Kathryn Verbanac shared REDE updates that includes, but is not limited to: REDE position under recruitment, High Performance Computing, ABT narrative framework course, RCAW, URCA grant, and Faculty Analytic Needs Task Force
- 6. Adjournment

Next Meeting, Thursday, January 20th at 4 pm via Teams