COMMITTEE: Student Academic Appellate

MEETING DATE: August 14, 2019

PERSON PRESIDING: Ralph Scott

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Kristen Cuthrell (also Rep of Faculty Senate), Ralph Scott (alternate), Lynne Murphy (alternate), Becky Jordan, Bryan Conger (new 2020 term), Louis Warren (new 2020 term)

REGULAR MEMBERS ABSENT: Akshat Kapoor, Hanna Jubran, Jennifer Matthews, Ariane Peralta (outgoing 2019 term), Brian Massey (outgoing 2019 term), Kathleen Jones (new 2020 term)

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Gregory Lapicki (Rep of Chair of the Faculty), Lynn Roeder (Rep of the Provost), Johna Faulconer (Rep of Chancellor)

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS ABSENT: Colin Johnson (Rep of Student Body- outgoing 2019 term)

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Beth Dawson (Office of the Registrar), Sherell Harris (Office of the Financial Aid)

Announcements/ Discussion

Agenda Item: Welcome and Orientation for new members

<u>Discussion:</u> Introduced and welcomed committee members: those rotating off after the 2019 term and those beginning in the 2020 term. Discussed typical actions of committee.

Action: No action was taken

Agenda Item: Approve minutes for June

Action: Minutes approved

Agenda Item: Course Withdrawals

Action: 1 approved, 4 denied= 5 appeals

Agenda Item: Term Withdrawals

Action: 9 approved, 1 denied= 10 appeals

Agenda Item: Suspension

Action: 1 approved, 9 denied= 10 appeals

Agenda Item: Late Appeals

Action: 0 approved, 2 denied= 2 appeals

Agenda Item: Other

<u>Discussion</u>: Discussion occurred around term limits for hearing appeals. Topic will be added to the September agenda for further discussion.

Action: 2 approved, 0 denied= 2 appeals

Meeting adjourned at 11:41 am

NEXT MEETING:

September 4, 2019 at 3pm in 142 Rawl Annex