COMMITTEE: Student Academic Appellate

MEETING DATE: September 4, 2019

PERSON PRESIDING: Jeff Popke, Chair of the Faculty

Ralph Scott, Committee Chair

REGULAR MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Ralph Scott (also Rep of Faculty Senate), Becky Jordan, Jennifer Matthews, Louis Warren

REGULAR MEMBERS ABSENT: Lynne Murphy, Akshat Kapoor, Hanna Jubran, Kathleen Jones

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Kristen Cuthrell (Rep of Chair of the Faculty), Johna Faulconer (Rep of Chancellor)

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS ABSENT Rep of Student Body; Lynn Roeder (Rep of the Provost)

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE: Beth Dawson (Office of the Registrar), Lora Lee (Office of Faculty Senate), Rachel Baker (Office of Faculty Senate)

Announcements/ Discussion

Agenda Item: Welcome and Remarks from Chair of the Faculty

<u>Discussion:</u> Welcomed committee members and introduced Faculty Senate staff. Discussed shared governance. Charged the committee.

Action: No action was taken

Agenda Item: Election of committee chair

<u>Discussion</u>: Ralph Scott nominated.

Action: Nomination approved

Agenda Item: Election of committee vice-chair

<u>Discussion</u>: Louis Warren nominated.

Action: Nomination approved

Agenda Item: Election of committee secretary

Discussion: Jennifer Matthews nominated.

Action: Nomination approved

Agenda Item: Approve minutes for August

Discussion:

Action: Minutes approved

Agenda Item: Term Withdrawals

Discussion:

Action: 0 approved, 1 denied= 1 appeal

Agenda Item: Other

Discussion:

Action: 1 approved, 0 denied= 1 appeal

Agenda Item: Course Withdrawals

Discussion:

Action: 1 approved, 2 denied= 3 appeals

Agenda Item: Term limits for appeals

<u>Discussion</u>: Committee members will review the term limit information

provided by Dr. Jeff Popke prior to the next meeting.

Action: No action taken

Meeting adjourned at 3:56 pm

NEXT MEETING:

October 2, 2019 at 3pm in 142 Rawl Annex