## **Student Academic Appellate Committee**

Minutes of Dec. 7, 2022, regular meeting

Person presiding: Jessica Teague (chair)

**Regular members present**: Brian Massey (secretary), Mary Roby, Becky Jordan, Bethany McKissick, Carla Pastor (vice chair), Kelli Russell, Roman Pawlak

Regular members absent: Jeff Coghill

**Ex-officio members present**: Johna Faulconer (Rep. of Chancellor), Amanda Haberstorh (Rep. of Faculty Senate), Lynn Roeder (Rep. of Provost)

**Ex-officio members absent**: AJ Farrell (Rep. of SGA), Mitzi Pestaner (Rep. of Chair of the Faculty)

**Others attending**: Beth Dawson (Office of the Registrar), Jeff Hill, (Student Financial Aid)

Agenda Item: Approve minutes for October 2022. (No meeting in November).

Action: Approved.

Agenda Item: Election of officers.

 Action: Jessica Teague was elected as the committee's chair. Carla Pastor was elected as the committee's vice chair.

Agenda Item: **Recognition of former chair**.

 Action: The committee asked the chair to ask the Faculty Senate chair for ideas for publicly recognizing the service of long-time committee chair and ECU faculty member, the late Ralph Scott.

Agenda Item: Course Withdrawals.

Action: 4 approved + 5 denied = 9 appeals.

Agenda Item: **Term Withdrawals**.

Action: 7 approved + 0 denied = 7 appeals.

Agenda Item: **Other**.

Action: 2 approved + 0 denied = 2 appeals.

Agenda Item: Suspension.

- Action: N/A.

Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: 10 a.m., Jan. 4, 2023