## Student Academic Appellate Committee Minutes of Sept. 7, 2022, organizing and regular meetings

Person presiding: Ralph Scott, committee chair.

**Regular members present:** Becky Jordan, Brian Massey (secretary), Bethany McKissick, Carla Pastor, Roman Pawlak, Mary Roby, Kelli Russell, Ralph Scott (chair) Jessica Teague (vice chair).

## Regular members absent:

**Ex-officio members present:** Johna Faulconer (Rep. of Chancellor), A.J. Farrell (Rep. of SGA), Amanda Haberstorh (Rep. of Faculty Senate), Mitzi Pestaner (Rep. of Chair of the Faculty), Lynn Roeder (Rep. of Provost).

## **Ex-officio members absent:**

**Others attending:** Beth Dawson (Office of the Registrar), Julie Poorman (Student Financial Aid), Anne Ticknor (Faculty Senate chair).

Agenda Item: Approve minutes for August 2022.

Action: Minutes approved.

Agenda Item: Presentation by Faculty Senate Chair Anne Ticknor.

 Action: Briefed members on the committee's charge and expectations for service on the committee.

Agenda Item: **Election of officers**.

 Action: The committee elected Ralph Scott as its chair, Jessica Teague as vice chair and Brian Massey as secretary.

Agenda Item: Course Withdrawals.

- Action: None.

Agenda Item: Term Withdrawals.

- **Action:** 2 approved + 1 denied = 3 appeals.

Agenda Item: Other

- **Action:** 3 approved = 3 appeals.

Agenda Item: **Suspension.** 

- **Action:** None.

Meeting adjourned at 4 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: Wednesday, Oct. 5, at 3 p.m.