Student Academic Appellate Committee

Organizational Meeting 09-06-2023

Regular Member Attendees: Mary Roby, Jeff Coghill, Kelli Russell, Roman Pawlak, Jessica Teague, Bethany McKissick

Ex-Officio Attendees: Amber Arnold, Lynn Roeder, Elizbeth Ables, Amanda Haberstroh, Rachel Mathers

Other Attendees: Anne Ticknor (Chair of the Faculty), Rachel Baker

Anne Ticknor, Chair of the Faculty, opened the meeting with introductions all around. She then proceeded to highlight portions of two documents provided as resources to the committee, found in the committee Microsoft Team, named "Guide to Faculty Senate Academic Committee Service" and "Guide to Committee Voting and Faculty Senate Reports."

Anne Ticknor then opened the floor for nominations for the officer positions of the committee. Elections took place, and the following members were elected as officers of the committee:

Chair: Jessica Teague

Vice Chair: Carla Pastor, nominated and elected *in abstentia*. Bethany McKissick will serve if Carla Pastor does not accept.

Secretary: Bryan Massey, nominated and elected *in abstentia*. If he does not accept, the committee will revisit this election to elect a replacement.

Anne Ticknor then turned the meeting over to Chair Teague so the committee could commence with the rest of their business.

Agenda Items

Agenda Item: Course Withdrawals

Action: o approved, 1 denied = 1 appeal.

Agenda Item: Term Withdrawals.

Action: o approved, 1 denied = 1 appeal.

Agenda Item: **Other**.

Action: o approved, o denied = o appeals.

Agenda Item: Suspension.

Action: o approved, 1 denied = 1 appeal.

Meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: Oct. 4, 2023, at 3 p.m.