

# **2019-2020 FACULTY SENATE**

The first regular meeting of the 2019-2020 Faculty Senate will be held on **Tuesday, September 10, 2019,** at 2:10 pm in room 249 of the new main campus Student Center located on 10<sup>th</sup> street.

### **FULL AGENDA**

(Live-streaming unavailable for this meeting. We apologize for the inconvenience.)

Revised\*

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of Minutes

April 23, 2019 and April 30, 2019 minutes

- III. Special Order of the Day
  - A. Roll Call
  - B. Announcements
  - C. Dan Gerlach, Interim Chancellor <u>Budget Update</u>\*
  - D. Jay Golden, Vice Chancellor for Research, Economic Development and Engagement
  - E. Jon Gilbert, University Athletics Director
  - F. Cal Christian, NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative
    Report on University Athletic Committee's Academic Integrity Subcommittee
  - G. Colin Johnson, Student Government Association President
  - H. Jeff Popke, Chair of the Faculty
  - I. Question Period
- IV. Unfinished Business

### V. Report of Graduate Council

Graduate Council, Ron Preston

Matters acted on and recorded in the <u>August 26, 2019</u>, Graduate Council meeting minutes, which included the <u>April 8, 2019</u> Graduate Curriculum Committee meeting minutes, did not include any action items and are reported here for informational purposes.

### VI. Report of Committees

- A. Committee on Committees, Anne Ticknor
- 1. Election of one 2020 term regular member to Due Process Committee (attachment 1).
- 2. Election of two 2020 term alternate members to Faculty Grievance Committee (attachment 2).
- 3. Election of one 2021 term regular member and one 2020 term alternate member to Grievance Board (attachment 3).
- B. Unit Code Screening Committee, Ken Ferguson Proposed revisions to Health Sciences Library Unit Code of Operations.

#### VII. New Business\*

Rally Chant Resolution, Susan Pearce (attachment 4).

Faculty Senate Agenda September 10, 2019 Attachment 1.

# **COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT**

Election of one 2020 term regular member to Due Process Committee

# Nominee: Charles Ellis, Professor, Allied Health Sciences

Regular Members	Academic Unit	Faculty Status	Term	College/School	Office Location	Mail #	Office #
OPEN			<b>2020</b>				
Gail Ratcliff	Mathematics	Professor	2020	Arts & Sciences	Austin 228	561	328-2433
Ralph Scott	Academic Lib. Services	Professor	2021	Academic Library Services	Joyner 4005	516	328-0265
Natalie Stewart	Theatre and Dance	Associate Professor	2021	Fine Arts & Communication	Messick 216	553	328-2110
Rose Bailey	Business	Associate Professor	2022	Business	Slay 118	503	737-2475
Alternate Members							
Steve Cerutti	Foreign Lang. & Literatures	Associate Professor	2020	Arts & Sciences	Bate 3325	556	328-6031
Ed Treadwell	Medicine	Professor	2021	Medicine	Brody 3E-59	628	744-7865
Eboni Baugh	Human Dev. & Family Science	Associate Professor	2021	Health & Human Performance	Rivers W 336	505	328-5714
Lisa Barricella	Academic Library Serv.	Associate Professor	2022	Academic Library Services	Joyner 1201	516	328-0838
Dana Espinosa	Kinesiology	Associate Professor	2022	Health & Human Performance	Minges 72	559	328-5445

Faculty Senate Agenda September 10, 2019 Attachment 2.

# **COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT**

Election of one 2020 term alternate member to Faculty Grievance Committee

Nominee: Elaine Cabinum-Foeller, Associate Professor, Medicine Jessica Christie, Professor, Art and Design

Regular Members	Academic Unit	Faculty Status	Term	College/School	Office Location	Mail #	Office #
Gopal Krishnan	Engineering & Technology	Associate Professor	2021	Engineering & Technology	Science & Tech 114	520	328-9688
Gregory Lapicki	Physics	Professor	2021	Arts & Sciences	Howell E-308	563	328-6894
Yolanda Holt	Allied Health Sciences	Assistant Professor	2021	Allied Health Sciences	Health Sciences 3310-X	668	744-6087
Mario Rey	Music	Associate Professor	2022	Fine Arts & Communication	Fletcher 266	506	328-6197
Sheresa Blanchard	Human Dev. & Family Sc.	Assistant Professor	2022	Health and Human Perf.	Rivers	505	737-2075
Alternate Members							
Tom Shields	English	Associate Professor	2020	Arts & Sciences	Bate 2134	555	328-6715
Jan Mayo	Academic Library Svcs.	Associate Professor	2020	Academic Library Services	Joyner Library 1200	516	328-0293
OPEN			2020				
OPEN			2020				
Karen Voytecki	Education	Associate Professor	2022	Education	Rivers 101NB	504	328-5747
Ex-officio Member (without vote)							
Jeff Popke	Chair of the Faculty	Professor	2020	Geography, Planning & Env.	Brewster A-222	557	328-6087

Faculty Senate Agenda September 10, 2019 Attachment 3.

### **COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES REPORT**

Election of one 2021 term regular member and one 2020 term alternate member to Grievance Board

Nominees: Mustafa Selim, Professor, Medicine (2021 term) Seodial Deena, Professor, English (2020 term)

Regular Members	Academic Unit	Faculty Status	Term	College/School	Office Location	Mail #	Office #
Jinling Huang	Biology	Professor	2020	Arts & Sciences	Howell S202	551	328-5623
Sitawa Kimuna	Sociology	Associate Professor	2020	Arts & Sciences	Brewster A-408	567	328-5768
Brian Muzyka	Dental Medicine	Associate Professor	2021	Dental Medicine	Moye Blvd 600	626	744-4618
OPEN			<b>2021</b>				
Eric Horsman	Geological Sciences	Associate Professor	2021	Arts & Sciences	Graham 101	558	328-7765
<b>Alternate Members</b>							
Carol Goodwillie	Biology	Associate Professor	2020	Arts & Sciences	Howell S-406	551	328-4225
Joy Karriker	Business	Associate Professor	2020	Business	Bate 3114	503	744-3850
OPEN			<b>2020</b>				
Christina Tschida	Education	Associate Professor	2021	Education	Speight	504	737-4161
Patricia Dragon	Academic Library Serv.	Associate Professor	2021	Academic Library Serv.	Joyner 1204	516	328-0296
Essie Torres	Health Educ. & Promotion	Associate Professor	2021	Health and Human Perf.	Belk 3202	529	328-1818
Jill Twark	Foreign Languages & Literatures	Associate Professor	2021	Arts & Sciences	Bate 3316	556	328-6536

**Faculty Senate Agenda September 10, 2019** Attachment 4.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

### Rally Chant Resolution

On July 17, 2019, The Trump/Pence 2020 campaign hosted a re-election rally in Minges Coliseum, located on the campus of East Carolina University. The Greenville rally was marked by the emergence of a racist chant from the crowd, in reference to Congresswoman Ilhan Omar. This racist chant received widespread media coverage both nationally and internationally, which frequently equated the crowd inside the rally with East Carolina University as an institution.

Whereas, ECU's policy on Non Discrimination states that it is against the policies of East Carolina University to create a hostile environment for an individual or group because of the individual's age, color, creed, disability, gender, genetic information, national origin, political affiliation, race/ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, or veteran's status (FM,

Part XII.II); and

this chant is a direct contradiction of the university's stated policy on Non Discrimination; Whereas.

and

this rally occurred on ECU's campus; and Whereas,

Whereas. the content of this chant has made some faculty, staff, and students of ECU feel unsafe

and unwelcome.

#### Therefore Be It Resolved, that:

- 1. The ECU faculty formally decries/condemns this hate speech at the event.
- 2. The ECU faculty condemns all acts and language that are prejudicial against individuals and groups based upon age, color, creed, disability, gender, genetic information. national origin, political affiliation, race/ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, gender expression, or veteran's status.
- 3. The ECU faculty reconfirms its commitment to diversity and inclusion.