Faculty Senate


Faculty Officers
Faculty Senate
Faculty Manual
University Standing Committees
Faculty Assembly
Academic Unit Codes of Operation
University Calendars

East Carolina University
Faculty  Senate

The Faculty Senate represents all faculty of East Carolina University. It is comprised of faculty members elected by the general faculty and UNC Faculty Assembly Delegates and senior administrators who serve as ex-officio members with vote. The functions, duties, and privileges of the faculty and the Faculty Senate are detailed in the ECU Faculty Constitution, which is contained in the Faculty Manual, and exercised under the authority of the University Chancellor.

Faculty Officers  

Faculty Senate

Routine Activities

Faculty Assembly Reports

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Dates

Frequently Asked Questions
About the Faculty Senate

 Parking information near Mendenhall
Meetings are live streamed and mediasite links are referenced in agendas and/or minutes.


Index of Resolutions
1977 - 2010

2011 - 2017

2018 - present


Full Text of Resolutions
1990 - 2010

2011 - 2017

2018 - present


"Shared governance in an academic setting is a fragile balancing act that takes place between the administration of the university and its faculty. It is the attempt by the administration and the faculty to solve problems and implement policies in a manner that benefits all the constituencies of the university." (Don Sexauer, Chair of the Faculty, Pieces of Eight, 1998)