Internal scholarships

The Department of English offers several scholarships for students. Please note that awards are dependent upon funding levels and may not be offered every year. To apply for scholarships, visit ECUAWards. (Note that the Halberg, O'Neal, and Farr awards have separate application processes. See below for details.)

Many National and International Scholarships also are available to you as an ECU student.

If you are a Graduate student and want more information about Graduate scholarships, visit the graduate Assistantships and Awards page.


This scholarship is awarded to one sophomore, junior, or senior English major who has both a demonstrated financial need and a GPA of 3.0 or better. Applicants need not be in-state students but must have completed 12 hours at ECU by the end of the fall semester.

This scholarship is awarded to a full-time student in English (graduate or undergraduate) with a minimum GPA of 3.0.

This scholarship will be awarded to English undergraduates for the purpose of study abroad. To be eligible for this scholarship, students must demonstrate financial need, carry a GPA of a 3.0 or better, and be accepted into a study-abroad program. Students will be required to meet the donors upon return to the United States to discuss their time abroad.

This scholarship is named for Russell Christman, an English Department instructor who was killed in a car accident in 1976. The scholarship was established by his parents, and is given to the junior English major who most typifies Russ’ spirit: vivacious, caring, energetic, and involved in a wide range of extra-curricular activities. Academic merit is a factor in choosing the recipient, but character is given greater weight. Applicants must have completed 12 hours at ECU by the end of the fall semester.

Awarded to a junior English major with a GPA of at least 3.5 who has completed at least 12 hours at ECU by the end of the fall semester and who exhibits potential in the field of English.

A cash prize to be determined and awarded annually to an undergraduate fiction writer, poet, or playwright (varies year to year) in the English Department. For more information, contact Liza Wieland.

The award is named for Debbie O'Neal, an instructor in the English Department, who died in a plane accident in 2013. She was passionate about linguistics and TESOL, working on many projects involving language variation and educating people on language. The memorial award is funded by Carolina TESOL in recognition of her contributions to the TESOL community. The amount of the award is generally $500. Students are nominated by instructors in the Department of English. Any graduate and undergraduate student with an interest in linguistics/TESOL is eligible but preference will be given to those students with a declared interest in linguistics/TESOL (such as an undergraduate student with a linguistics minor or a MA student with concentration in Linguistics or TESOL).

For more information on the Debbie O'Neal Award, contact the Director of Undergraduate Studies.

Named in honor of a former faculty member of the English Department, the contest was established by Paul and Marie Farr before Paul's death in 1976. The contest encourages excellence in undergraduate expository writing, particularly emphasizing clarity and elegance in prose. Essays from both English and Gender Studies courses are eligible. The amount of the award is generally $100. Essays written during the current academic year are submitted by instructors. They are considered anonymously by the Student Services and Scholarships committee. A recipient of the award is selected in the spring semester. The deadline for this award is Reading Day.

External scholarships

Other Scholarship Opportunities at East Carolina

The Pat and Lynn Lane Scholarship is a four-year $20,000 scholarship awarded to deserving students pursuing a degree in education in the College of Education at East Carolina University. More information is available at

James and Connie Maynard and the College of Education established the Maynard Scholarship at East Carolina University on May 31, 2006. This four-year $20,000 scholarship is awarded to outstanding high school seniors each year. For more information, visit

National and International scholarships include:

  • Fulbright Scholarship
  • Benjamin Gilman Scholarship
  • Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship
  • Marshall Scholarships
  • Charles B. Rangel Scholarship
  • Gates Millenium Scholarship
  • Golden Key Scholarship
  • Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Scholarship
  • Phi Kappa Phi Scholarship
  • Rhodes Scholarship
  • Udall Scholarship

Eligibility requirements and deadlines vary. Visit the University's Scholarships page for more information and to apply.