School of Music
Watch Concerts Live

There is a special place for you at ECU School of Music!

Benefit from more than a century of music teaching history at ECU by studying with renowned faculty who are committed to your academic, artistic and career success.

You will participate in award-winning ensembles including three large bands, symphony orchestra, three choirs, two jazz bands and multiple jazz combos, four specialty ensembles and two sports bands. Experience unique performance and mentoring opportunities with professional musicians during five on-campus music festivals.
Click here for your application request.


August 18, 2017
December 2, 2017
January 20, 2018
February 10, 2018
February 24, 2018*
March 17, 2018

*last day for scholarship consideration

None at this time.

To apply for these positions:
Click here
then click "search postings" and enter position number.



Pirate Nation Gives March 21- Support the arts at ECU!

Pirate Nation Gives seeks to engage alumni, students, friends, faculty, staff and parents to give to the university on one specific day (March 21). PNG is for every facet of the university, every college and school, every department, every unit.

To find out more and to give, click on the link below. For the College of Fine Arts and Communication,  "Give Now," then "View All Giving Opportunities."

ECU voice students achieve at competitions

Two ECU voice majors were awarded prizes at this year’s Orpheus National Competition for Vocalists, held March 2, 3 and 4 on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University. Senior Joseph Morris (baritone), and Sophomore Arianna Ford (soprano) tied for third place in the final round of the competition. Morris was awarded the Orpheus Da Capo award, while Ford took home the Richard Strauss award. Both awards came with cash prizes.

Arianna Ford is a student of Nicole Fraley-Franklin. Joseph Morris is a student of John Kramar.

School of Music voice students also won numerous awards at the NC National Association of Teachers of Singing competition in Winston-Salem in February.

First place winners included:
1st Place Graduate Women - Kerby Baier; 1st Place Senior Women - Gina Falk; 1st Place Junior Women - Alex Fee, 1st Place Junior Men - William Edwards; 1st Place Sophomore Women – Arianna Ford; 1st Place Freshman Men – Jacob McCain (click here for a complete list of winners)

Jacob McCain was also selected as overall outstanding male singer.

They are students of Jami Rhodes, Nicole Franklin, Daniel Shirley and John Kramar.


ECU student composer Green's works featured

School of Music graduate composition student Brittany Green (MM ’18) has four of her compositions selected for multiple performances in Ohio, Illinois, Massachusetts and Georgia in spring 2018.
Performances of her works will be featured at 52 Weeks of Flute in Chicago; the Group for New Music at the University of Illinois Compose-a-thon in Champaign, Illinois; the BGSU Graduate Music Conference in Bowling Green, Ohio; the Ossia Commission Project in Boston; the Crossing Border’s Women Composers Around the World Concert Series at two venues in Illinois; New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival;
and a performance by the Berry College New Music Ensemble in Mount Berry, Georgia.

Additional works are featured in ECU’s NC NewMusic Initiative Premiere Performances in March and April in Greenville.

Green is a composition student of Dr. Ed Jacobs.


Shirley to reprise role in acclaimed opera

ECU School of Music voice faculty tenor Daniel Shirley will rejoin the touring cast of the critically acclaimed opera “We Shall Not Be Moved” in March at the Dutch National Opera of Amsterdam.

Named one of the top classical music performances of the year by the New York Times, “We Shall Not Be Moved” chronicles in operatic format the real-life 1985 incident in which Philadelphia police bombed a rowhouse occupied by a group of black separatists.

 Part of the original cast when the opera premiered, Shirley performs as John Little, a white or mixed-race youth who self-identifies as black.

Click here to read more.


Nelson publishes music textbook

ECU School of Music faculty member Dr. Jocelyn Nelson has published the music appreciation textbook "Gateway to Music: An Introduction to American Vernacular, Western Art, and World Musical Traditions" with Cognella Academic Publishing.

The textbook, geared for the nonmajor undergraduate student, explores American vernacular music, Western art music and musical traditions throughout the world beyond the US and Western Europe, beginning with music most familiar to American students and radiating outward to the least familiar musical traditions. Each musical example explores musical elements, performance practices and cultural contexts.

School of Music faculty member Bo Newsome contributed images to the musical elements appendix to help students understand basic musical concepts.

Nelson has taught music history, music appreciation, lute and guitar literature, and early guitar and lute performance at ECU.


ECU cellist Lavine wins MTNA 2017 NC prize

East Carolina University sophomore cellist Scott Alex Levine won first place in the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) Young Artist North Carolina strings competition on October 28 in Raleigh, NC. He advanced to the MTNA Southern Division competition in Lynchburg, VA, on January 12-15, where he received honorable mention.

The MTNA National Student Competitions are the most successful and prestigious student competitions in the country. Each year, thousands of students compete for top prizes and national recognition.

Levine is a student of Emanuel Gruber.

Individuals requesting accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) should call 252-737-1016 (voice/TTY) at least 48 hours prior to the event.