Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Share Facebook Icon Twitter Icon

CAHS Research and Funding News

The College of Allied Health Sciences at East Carolina University has been awarded a large grant (cooperative agreement) from the US Army Medical Research and Materiel Command at Fort Detrick, Maryland to fund Operation Re-entry North Carolina. 

This agreement provides up to $10.4M in federal funding to ECU over five years:  $2.1M in year 1 with an option of an additional $8.4M in years 2-5.  The first year of this agreement officially began September 30th.  The Lead Principal Investigator is David P. Cistola, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Clinical Laboratory Science and Associate Dean for Research, CAHS.  

Operation Re-entry North Carolina (ORNC) is a university-wide, multi-institutional research partnership in support of military service personnel:  wounded warriors, veterans and their families, as well as those military/VA providers who care for them.  This work will advance the quality of health care and family support for those who put their lives and well-being on the line for our nation.  It has been in the planning and preparation stages for three years, an outflow of the college's strategic plan to develop and lead a collaborative, multi-disciplinary rehabilitation research center.    

The research and research support initiatives will be carried out by the ORNC Project Team -- a distinctively broad-based, interdisciplinary group of faculty members and students drawn from at least six of ECU's colleges and schools.  The faculty members leading and participating in individual projects and cores are:  

Core A (Research Pilot Projects):  Al Schreier, Division of Research & Graduate Studies Pilot Project 1:  Carmen Russoniello, CHHP
Pilot Project 2:  Elizabeth Carroll, CHE
Pilot Project 3:  Sherri Jones, Blaise Williams, Leslie Allison, CAHS
Pilot Project 4:  Carmen Russoniello, CHHP
Pilot Project 5:  Leonard Trujillo, CAHS
Pilot Project 6:  Baohong Zhang and Xiaoping Fan, HCAS
Pilot Project 7:  Angela Lamson, CHE
Pilot Project 8:  Irene Hamrick, formerly BSOM
Pilot Project 9:  Jason Yao, TECS and Gregg Givens, CAHS
Pilot Project 10:  Paul Toriello, CAHS
Core B (Research Infrastructure: Telemedicine & e-mental Health, Laboratory for Blast Injury Research):  Sy Saeed & Gloria Jones, BSOM and David Cistola, CAHS
Core C (Military Research Training):  Beth Velde, DRGS/CAHS
Core D (Military Research Dissemination):  Dan Moore, BSOM
Core E (Leadership Team):  David Cistola, CAHS

Erika Stewart, a senior Health Information Management student, was a recipient of the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) Foundation Undergraduate Merit Scholarship in the amount of $1200.  The AHIMA Foundation Undergraduate Merit Award is funded through contributions to the general scholarship fund, named for Grace Whiting Myers.

Jessica Pierce (AuD/PhD Student in CSDI) is the first recipient of the Student Investigator Vestibular Research Grant funded by the American Academy of Audiology Foundation in partnership with the American Institute of Balance Education Foundation.  The amount of the grant is $4605.  Her project is 'Morphological Correlates of Gravity Receptor Functional Aging'. Her mentor is Dr. Sherri Jones.  

Jessica also received 2nd place for her outstanding presentation at the 11th Annual ECU Neuroscience Symposium on November, 3, 2009.  Her presentation was titled, 'Gravity Receptor Phenotype Varies Widely Among A/J Backcross Mice'.    

Kristal Mills (AuD/PhD Student in CSDI) received a Mentored Doctoral Student Research Poster Session grant from the National Institute of Health and the American Auditory Society to present her work, 'Vestibular Function Following Blast Exposure: A Retrospective Review', at the upcoming American Auditory Society meeting.  Her mentor is Dr. Sherri Jones.

Kristal Mills, an AuD/PhD student, received a $500 graduate student travel award from the Association for Research in Otolaryngology (ARO) to present her research on auditory function in a Nox3 genetic mutation.

Lloyd Goodwin, Ph.D., LPC, LCAS, CRC-MAC, CCS, ACS, Director & Professor, Substance Abuse and Clinical Counselor education program, Department of Rehabilitation Studies at East Carolina University receives a “Special Recognition Award”.

Grants awarded to Dr. Tim Jones, Dr. Leonard Trujillo, Dr. Donald Ensley, Dr. Leslie Allison, Dr. Ann Dickerson, and Dr. John Heilmann

Spencer H. Cole, MPAS, PA-C, was recently recognized as a Distinguished Fellow of the American Academy of Physician Assistants.

Patricia Royal, HSIM, has article published.

Marianna Walker, Ph.D, Associate Professor, has received the honor of Fellow from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

CAHS faculty members awarded Research Development Awards

Kulesher presents paper at Baltimore conference

Givens recognized for infant hearing intervention program

Dickerson and Reistetter Receive Grants

Zeng and Bell Receive Grant

Sligar and Zeng Publication

Dr. Leslie Allison and Dr. Jane Painter to provide leadership in developing NC Falls Prevention Coalition

CSDI Doctoral Student Receives National Award

3rd Annual Rehabilitation and Allied Health Research Day


Operation Re-entry North Carolina

re entry

A Research Initiative in Support of Military Service Personnel, Veterans and their Families