School of Dental Medicine

Advanced Education in General Dentistry


Program Overview from Cheryl L. Serio, DDS, FAGD

The Advanced Education in General Dentistry Program is designed to give graduate dentists a one-year experience in advanced general dentistry disciplines. The program is based at the East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine (SoDM) Community Service Learning Centers (CSLC) located throughout the State of North Carolina. Each CSLC is a 16-chair ultramodern clinic with the latest in clinical and communications technology. There are eight CSLCs throughout the state of North Carolina.  Residents may train in Ahoskie, Elizabeth City, Lillington, Sylva, Robeson County, Davidson County, Spruce Pine, Brunswick County and at the School of Dental Medicine in Greenville.

The focus of the residency is to provide advanced training while bringing primary dental care to dentally underserved areas of the state. Each Community Service Learning Center is staffed by 1.0-2.0 full-time general dentists, part-time attending dentists, and a complete staff of hygienists, assistants, and administrative personnel. The CSLCs are linked to Ross Hall, the main clinical facility of the School of Dental Medicine by a sophisticated videoconferencing network. Residents are never more than a few mouse clicks away from the collected expertise of the SoDM faculty. Residency candidates will be based at a CSLC and have some rotation time at the School of Dental Medicine in Greenville. This program is of special interest to those dentists interested in gaining expertise in treating complex patients in an outpatient setting and working in a rural community.

There is no tuition associated with the AEGD certification program. Residents will receive a stipend consistent with that of a Post Graduate Year 1 (PGY I) resident which is $53,309.00 in 2017-2018. AEGD residents will be eligible for full benefits including vacation and holidays, health insurance and professional liability insurance.

The program in advanced education in general dentistry (12-month) is accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation and has been granted the accreditation status of "approval without reporting requirements." The Commission is a specialized accrediting body recognized by the United States Department of Education. The Commission on Dental Accreditation can be contacted at (312) 440-4653 or at 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611. The Commission's web address is:

The Commission on Dental Accreditation has accredited the postdoctoral program in Advanced Education in General Dentistry. However, this education area is not one of the American Dental Association recognized dental specialty areas. Therefore, dentists graduating from this program cannot announce that they are specialists, as recognized by the American Dental Association.

For more information, contact:

Cheryl Serio, DDS, FAGD
Program Director, Advanced Education in General Dentistry
Clinical Associate Professor

School of Dental Medicine
East Carolina University
1851 MacGregor Downs Road, 3204C
Greenville, NC 27834-5925
(252) 737-7004 Telephone
(252) 737-7049 Fax

Additional Links:

Supplemental Application

AEGD Brochure

Program Goals & Objectives

Quick Links