ECU Logo
Department of Internal Medicine
Division of Nephrology & Hypertension


About Us

The Division of Nephrology and Hypertension maintains a full spectrum of clinical services that include the management of the following:

  • Acute and Chronic Renal Failure
  • Renal Transplantation
  • Hypertension

The Division has extensive experience in the following:
  • Hemodialysis
  • All forms of peritoneal dialysis
  • All forms of peritoneal dialysis
  • Continuous renal replacement therapy
  • Plasmapheresis (including immunoabsorption
  • Renal biopsy
  • Immunosuppression management

The division maintains two chronic dialysis units, one on the East Carolina University School of Medicine campus, and the other on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. In addition, the University maintains an active renal transplant program performing approximately 50 transplants per year.
You are here:
Department of Internal Medicine > Nephrology > About Us