ECU Logo
Eastern Carolina Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience



10th Annual Neuroscience Symposium

The 10th Annual Neuroscience Symposium was held at the Monroe Center in Greenville, NC on November 25th, 2008. The symposium schedule included 30 minutes for invited speakers, 20 minutes for ECU faculty (2 in morning and 2 in afternoon), 15 minutes for student speakers selected from submitted abstracts, and a poster session.

  • Final Program (click here)
  • Invited Speakers
    • Keynote address: Dr. George Kunos, Scientific Director, NIAAA, Bethesda MD.
      Title: Endocannabinoids and Energy Homeostasis
    • Dr. Frank Johnson, Dept. of Psychology, Florida State University, Tallahassee FL.
      Title: Brain Pathways for Behavioral Variation and Selection in a Vocal-Learning Songbird
    • Harriet and John Wooten Lecture: Dr. Michael Irizarry, Director of Epidemiology (Neurosciences), GlaxoSmithKline, Raleigh, NC.
      Title: Biomarkers and Imaging Markers in Alzheimer Disease
  • Location
    Edwin W. Monroe AHEC Conference Center
    200 Venture Tower Drive
    Greenville, NC