WHAT WE DO:


The ECU News Service is an independent reporting service that covers events, issues and stories for the university community.

  • We work with colleges and departments to get university news published online and distributed to media outlets.

  • We work with news media to help reporters and news directors cover events, topics and issues involving ECU or incorporating expert opinion from within the ECU community.

  • We play a communications role on the university's emergency response team. Those duties include crafting and sending ECU alerts and providing public updates during weather or public safety emergencies.

  • We publish news about the university on the ECU News Services home page, the ECU Now blog, the monthly newsletter ECU Today and in the alumni magazine, East, as well as the ECU home page. We maintain a list of university experts on our ECU Experts List.


ADMINISTRATION:


ms2

Mary Schulken
Executive Director of Communication,
Public Affairs & Marketing
252-328-6482
schulkenma@ecu.edu


king

Kristen King
Executive assistant
252-328-6481
kingkr@ecu.edu

Contact us:
Main Campus:   (252) 328-6481; ecunews@ecu.edu
Health Sciences Campus:  (252) 744-2481; kennedyk@ecu.edu


NEWS SERVICES STAFF

hutson

Jeannine Hutson

Director of News Services
252-328-1164
hutsonj@ecu.edu



kennedy1_1

Kathryn Kennedy
Chief of Health Sciences Communication
252-744-2482
kennedyk@ecu.edu

Brody School of Medicine, Dental Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health Sciences

holster

Joy Holster
Director of New Media
252-328-1162
holsterj@ecu.edu

Online publications, web postings and design

setzer

Kelly Setzer

Staff writer
Media relations
252-328-1163
setzerk14@ecu.edu

Arts & Sciences, Human Ecology, Innovation and Economic Development, ECU Police, Business, Administration,Social Media, Media Relations
ellis

Amy Ellis
Staff writer, Health Sciences
252-744-3764
ellisa14@ecu.edu  

Brody School of Medicine, Nursing, Allied Health Sciences, Dental Medicine
baity

Crystal Baity

Staff writer
Media relations
252-328-1159
baityc@ecu.edu


Fine Arts & Communication, Engineering & Technology, Education, Honors College, Health & Human Performance, Public Service, Rankings, Media Relations

hollis

Cliff Hollis
Photographer
252-328-6481
hollise@ecu.edu

boyd1

Doug Boyd

Editor, East magazine
Staff writer (research, military)
252-737-1973
boydd@ecu.edu

tuttle_1

Steve Tuttle
Editor, East magazine
252-328-6481
tuttles@ecu.edu