ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

ECU named to Land Grant association

GREENVILLE, NC   (Apr. 30, 1993)   —   The National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges—the nation’s oldest higher education association—has elected East Carolina to its membership.
C. Peter Magrath, the NASULGC president, announced in Washington, D. C. that ECU and five other campuses are joining the association. The association’s Board of Directors elected the new members.
Founded in 1887, NASULGC represents the interests of public higher education to legislative and administrative branches of government as well as to the private sector. Its membership includes 167 schools in 50 states.
“This membership will give us further recognition by other institutions who are fulfilling missions similar to ours,” said ECU Chancellor Richard R. Eakin. He also said ECU’s association with the group will help establish communication links and provide for beneficial exchanges between the member campuses.
In addition to ECU, the NASULGC chose five other schools. They are Florida Atlantic University, the University of Central Florida, the University of Massachusetts, Oakland University (Michigan) and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
In a news release, Magrath described the new members as “an excellent and diverse group of public universities.”
“America’s great state universities such as these are essential to the health and well-being of our nation and its citizens, and we are proud to add to our already distinguished roster of members each of these fine public institutions,” he said.
NASULGC is based in Washington, D.C. Its members represent 71 of the top 100 universities in total science and engineering research-and-development spending, according to 1990 figures from the National Science Foundation.
Other North Carolina schools in the association are; the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, UNC-Greensboro, N.C State University and N.C. A&T State University.