ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Honorary society recognizes students, faculty and alumni

Greenville, N.C.   (Apr. 19, 2010)   —   East Carolina University’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter on April 18 welcomed into its ranks six faculty members, three alumni and one honorary member, as well as more than 140 East Carolina University students.

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest, largest, and most selective honor society for all academic disciplines, said Dr. Michael Bassman, president of the ECU chapter of Phi Kappa Phi.

The ceremony at Wright Auditorium recognized several faculty: Dr. Brad Lockerbie, professor and chair of the Department of Political Science; Dr. Linda Patriarca, dean and professor in the College of Education; Dr. James Peden, associate dean for admissions and professor in the departments of medicine and psychiatric medicine; Dr. John Pender, assistant professor; Dr. David White, dean of the College of Technology and Computer Science.

The chapter also recognized Dr. William A. Bloodworth Jr., current president of the national Phi Kappa Phi. Bloodworth was an ECU faculty member and administrator from 1972 to 1990.

Alumni honorees included Ronnie P. Barnes, head athletic trainer for the New York Giants; Michael J. Bunting, founder and president of RubberMill, a manufacturer and fabricator of rubber and fiber components; and Laura L. Elliot, a retired senior accountant for the U.S. Department of the Treasury who was the first African-American graduate of ECU.

Marguerite Austin Perry, a former chair of ECU’s Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures, was recognized as an honorary member. Perry has an extensive record of university involvement, including serving on the Board of Directors of Joyner Library, the Advisory Council of the Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences and the Advisory Council of Foreign Languages.

Phi Kappa Phi’s chapters are on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. Since ECU began initiating students into Phi Kappa Phi in 1970, more than 4,800 students have been recognized for their academic performance and character. This year, Danielle Martin and Jonathan Lee, both of Greenville, received Outstanding Freshman Awards while Landon Allen of Wake Forest was the recipient of the Outstanding Senior Award. Distinguished faculty and alumni may also be nominated for membership.


Contact: Dr. Michael Bassman | 252-328-1527