ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Campbell among honorees for leadership

Dr. Diane Campbell
GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Apr. 1, 2011)   —   Dr. Diane Campbell of the Brody School of Medicine is the recipient of the 2011 Linda Allred Profiles in Leadership Award at East Carolina University.

Campbell is a clinical assistant professor of medicine and director of the Community REACH Program. Her award is part of the university's April 13 event focusing on women's issues and leadership.

Valeria Lee, vice chairwoman and founding member of the N.C. Rural Economic Development Center, a state-funded non-profit that works toward rural economic vigor, will be the keynote speaker April 13 at the ECU Women of Distinction awards presentation. The event begins at 4 p.m. and concludes with an awards presentation at 6:30 p.m. in the Croatan Green Room. Lee's talk is titled "Women's Issues: 100 years back, 100 days forward."

The event also includes a panel discussion of women's issues in academia.

At the event, Campbell will receive the Allred Award, named for the former associate professor of psychology who died in 2005, directed the Women's Studies Program and advocated for women’s rights and the rights of those with disabilities.

In addition, nine faculty members will receive an ECU Women of Distinction Award for 2011. They are Drs. Margie Gallagher, College of Human Ecology; Jamie Kruse, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences; Elizabeth Layman, College of Allied Health and Sciences; Deirdre Mageean, Division of Research and Graduate Studies; Linda Mooney, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences; Diane Rodriguez-Luterbach, College of Education; Kathleen Row, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences; Beth Velde, College of Allied Health Sciences and OEIED; and Marianna Walker, College of Allied Health Sciences.

The Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Women and the Office of Equity, Diversity and Community Relations sponsors the ECU Women of Distinction Awards.

For more information, contact Velde at 737-1377.


Contact: Doug Boyd | 252-744-2482