ECU News Services

youtube twitter facebook rss feed

Health sciences authors recognized for published works

By Crystal Baity
ECU News Services

GREENVILLE, N.C.   (Nov. 15, 2013)   —   Ninety-six East Carolina University faculty and staff were honored Nov. 5 for their published works at the William E. Laupus Health Sciences Library’s annual Health Sciences Author Recognition Awards ceremony.

Faculty and staff submitted 220 entries – 193 peer-reviewed journal articles, 22 book chapters and five books – published between July 1, 2012 and June 30. A bibliography is available at

The awards pay tribute to those who expand the scholarly work of the university and the research reputation of the Division of Health Sciences through their published works, said Dr. Richard R. Eakin, interim director of Laupus Library. “You will see that our faculty and staff expertise extends over a wide range of subjects in health sciences and health sciences education,” Eakin said. “We express gratitude to our authors for their hard work and impressive scholarship.”

The library hosted the awards ceremony and dinner reception for honorees at the Greenville Hilton. The event was co-sponsored by the Friends of Laupus Library, which provide needed support for special programs and activities of the library.

Other sponsors were Matthews Medical Books, The Little Bank, John and Marcia Tinglestad, Dr. John Papalas and Springer.

Authors recognized in the College of Allied Health Sciences were Debbie Amini, Leigh Cellucci, Martha Chapin, Anne Dickerson, Denise Donica, Elizabeth Forrestal, Susie Harris, Mary Hildebrand, Robert Kulesher, Shari Sias, and Leonard Trujillo.

The Brody School of Medicine authors were Abdel Abdel-Rahman, Shaw Akula, Hazaim Alwair, Yan-Hua Chen, Paul Cook, Kay Craven, Doyle Cummings, Ramesh Daggubati, Moahad Dar, Tejas Desai, Jamie Dewitt, Lynis Dohm, Lixue Dong, Bruce Ferguson, Jonathan Firnhaber, Christopher Geyer, Kelly Harrell, Greg Kearney, Greg, Juhee Kim, Cheryl Knudson, Warren Knudson, Kathryn Kolasa, Alan Kypson, Myon-Hee Lee, Qun Lu, Chris Mansfield, Sanjay Mehra, Assad Movahed, Rajasekhar Nekkanti, Dale Newton, Lloyd Novick, Ann Marie Nye, Thomas Penders, Stephanie Pitts, Walter Pories, Rachel Roper, Maria Ruiz-Echevarria, Sy Saeed, Sy, Samuel Sears, Robert Shaw, Brian Shewchuk, George Sigounas, Ann Sperry, Robert Tanenberg, David Terrian, Katherine Verbanac, Jitka Virag, Xiajia Wang, C.J. Wingard, Li Yang.

The School of Dental Medicine authors were Joseph Califano, Bobby Collins, and Linda May.

The Laupus Health Sciences Library authors were Anne Anderson, Kathy Cable, Gina Firnhaber, Carrie Forbes, Elizabeth Ketterman, Katherine Rickett, and Roger Russell.

Those recognized in the College of Nursing were Rebecca Benfield, Sylvia Brown, Rita Coggins, Robin Webb Corbett, Martha Engelke, Laura Gantt, Mark Hand, Sonya Hardin, Candace Harrington, Carolyn Horne, Elizabeth Jesse, Mary Kirkpatrick, Debra Kosko, Kim Larson, Michelle Mendes, Jane Miles, Janice Neil, Anette Peery, Marie Pokorny, Donna Roberson, Mary Ann Rose, Melissa Schwartz, Elaine Scott, Kathleen Sitzman, and Melvin Swanson.


Contact: Kelly Rogers Dilda | 252-744-2232